Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 52

Thread: Frequency Finder - unable to complete the process as documented.

  1. #1
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts

    Frequency Finder - unable to complete the process as documented.

    I tried when Frequency Finder was first released, and again today (5.3.004), but still can't get passed the point which states

    "Disable the "official" ABM provider. You can re-enable it after the ABM file has been updated with the details you upload. Select the provider as normal and run ABM."

    I guess I don't understand what it means as I've tried what I think are the obvious things but without any success.

    terrestrial_finder.xml is created ok for the region "East Yorks & Lincs terrestrial".

    Is the ampersand character causing me grief, or is it just me???

    I can create a log file if needed - should that be ABM or a normal debug log?

  2. #2
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    23,339
    Thanks
    6,422
    Thanked 9,146 Times in 6,224 Posts
    it creates a provider file for you. so there is the "official" Freeview in ABM as well as the newly created one. the official one does not work fully (that is why you are running ABM frequency finder), so it makes no sense running it.

    please attach the XML it creates.

    log is just the system log file

  3. #3
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Here's the XML file, the log will have to wait until tomorrow.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    23,339
    Thanks
    6,422
    Thanked 9,146 Times in 6,224 Posts
    what is wrong with the official file?

  5. #5
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    23,339
    Thanks
    6,422
    Thanked 9,146 Times in 6,224 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Is the ampersand character causing me grief
    Yes it is the ampersand character. Please provide debug log so we can tweak this.
    Which is your nearest mast?

  6. #6
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    what is wrong with the official file?
    Nothing, but there are changes due soon, and I knew I would need help getting it working, which kind of defeats the object.

    Debug log will have to wait until this afternoon, recording the rugby at the moment.

    Belmont is the mast I use, with no interference (that I am aware of) from any other transmitters.

  7. #7
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    23,339
    Thanks
    6,422
    Thanked 9,146 Times in 6,224 Posts
    OK, we will need to adapt code in ABM. Thanks for reporting

  8. #8
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    This is probably enough...…

    Code:
    <  1074.676> [ABM-Providers][parseXML] XML parse error (/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/AutoBouquetsMaker/scanner/../providers/terrestrial_finder.xml): not well-formed (invalid token): line 2, column 19
    Using 5.3.006

  9. #9
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Line 6 also has an ampersand. Changing them both to and, everything now works as expected, including the scan.

  10. #10
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    This extra line in frequencyfinder.py at around line 562 seems to do the trick for ampersands.
    Looks ok as well if no ampersands are present.
    Having never written any python code, it needs checking out properly.

    Code:
    	def saveProviderFile(self):
    		customProviderList = []
    		self.strongestTransponder = self.transponders_unique[self.iterateUniqueTranspondersBySignalQuality()[-1]]
    		for tsidOnidKey in self.iterateUniqueTranspondersBySignalQuality()[::-1]: # iterate in reverse order and select the first system 0 transponder
    			transponder = self.transponders_unique[tsidOnidKey]
    			if transponder["system"] == 0:
    				self.strongestTransponder = transponder
    				break
    		self.strongestTransponder["network_name"] = self.strongestTransponder["network_name"].replace("&", "and")
    		network_name = self.strongestTransponder["network_name"]
    		customProviderList.append('<provider>\n')
    		customProviderList.append('\t<name>%s terrestrial</name>\n' % network_name)
    		customProviderList.append('\t<streamtype>dvbt</streamtype>\n')
    Simple1080 skin produces the following warnings in signalfinder…

    Code:
    <   972.036> [GUISkin] warning, skin is missing element background in <class 'Plugins.SystemPlugins.AutoBouquetsMaker.scanner.frequencyfinder.AutoBouquetsMaker_FrequencyFinder'>
    <   972.037> [GUISkin] warning, skin is missing element progress in <class 'Plugins.SystemPlugins.AutoBouquetsMaker.scanner.frequencyfinder.AutoBouquetsMaker_FrequencyFinder'>
    <   972.039> [Skin] processing screen SimpleSummary:
    <   972.044> [ePNG] couldn't open /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/AutoBouquetsMaker/scanner/images/background.png

  11. #11
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Retune day today, this link is handy, with plenty of details at the end...…

    Code:
    http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/operations/700mhz_clearance/clearance_events_in_2019
    I've used a modified version of terrestrial_finder.xml (ampersands changed to and), and rescanned using it.

    The scan worked ok, but the bouquets haven't populated as I expected. (First half of "hd channels" are missing, and most of "all channels" are missing.)

    Belmont transmitter, East Yorks & Lincs terrestrial region.

    Using the default provider Freeview(UK)/Belmont does exactly the same.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (23-10-19)

  13. #12
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Debug logs if needed...….

  14. #13
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    If I don't hide any ABM sections, then the HD and All Channels bouquets populate ok, but I only get 4 bouquets in total (all, hd, last scanned and favourites).
    No sign of the sections I've un-hidden.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ccs; 23-10-19 at 16:20.

  15. #14
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    23,339
    Thanks
    6,422
    Thanked 9,146 Times in 6,224 Posts
    Might take a bit for the SI tables to update. I have made the changes you supplied.

    https://github.com/oe-alliance/AutoB...5c7990840b98d3

  16. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    ccs (23-10-19),Willo3092 (23-10-19)

  17. #15
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Might take a bit for the SI tables to update. I have made the changes you supplied.

    https://github.com/oe-alliance/AutoB...5c7990840b98d3
    Much appreciated.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.