Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 75 Times in 58 Posts

    how to flash without remote?

    Many months ago I mothballed the edision os mini, and now need to resurrect it, currently on vix image OpenViX 4.2.030 (2017-02-06)

    Now unfortunately, the remote is lost, is there a way to flash the receiver using only the hardware on the box?

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    6,746
    Thanks
    2,145
    Thanked 1,947 Times in 1,597 Posts
    You can use WebIf but youíll need the box IP address to be able to access the Menuís etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    adm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 298 Times in 236 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_Hazza View Post
    You can use WebIf but youíll need the box IP address to be able to access the Menuís etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The router should be able to supply that IP address. The router will have a list of all IP addresses assigned to all the equipment on the home network and it may be a process of elimination by trying all the IP addresses in turn.
    Just type the IP address in to the address bar of the PCs internet browser. When you get the correct one you will end up with the boxes' web interface (Webif)
    Expand the image of the remote and you will have a fully working virtual remote to control the box.

    The only gotcha is that the IP address may change on every reboot of your box unless the router is user configured to assign the same address to your box every time it connects.

    On my router the assigned IP numbers are in LAN Setting section under the heading of Client List
    I then have a separate list of "Address Reservation" which I created myself by copying the MAC address from the Client List and the IP number also from the Client list ( you can assign your ownIP address order using the IP Client list as a guide - my IPs are assiged 192.168.1.101, 192.168.1.102,192.168.1.103 etc. for each equipment on my network rather than some random final number .1XX that the router may assign if not told to reserve the same IP numbers for each of the equipments.}
    All routers should have similar options but may be labelled differently

    http://www.openvix.co.uk/index.php/g...ashing-guides/
    Last edited by adm; 11-10-19 at 23:54.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 75 Times in 58 Posts
    does webif not start to late, the flash needs to be done via usb on initial boot, before the box has booted? that was my understanding, or can I flash once the box has booted?

  5. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    adm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 298 Times in 236 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ford1 View Post
    does webif not start to late, the flash needs to be done via usb on initial boot, before the box has booted? that was my understanding, or can I flash once the box has booted?
    Your assumption is probably correct.

    What may work is an update using the image manager but you need someone else to confirm

    Using the remote in Webif
    menu → setup → VIX → backup manager → make a backup (of settings and plugins)
    menu → setup → VIX → image manager → make a backup of the current image

    menu → setup → VIX → image manager → press yellow to downlod (5.3.006)
    Highlight the just downloaded file and press blue to flash

    During the next couple of minutes the flash will take place and the box will reboot first displaying the OpenVIX splash screen and then with an option to restore the settings.

    For me at this stage the webif remote was fully working and the OK button and the rest of the virtual remote could be used to select all options to restore settings and plugins

    The gotcha here is that I was flashing from 5.3.004 to 5.3.006 and box automatically re-established my network connection – this may not be true when flashing from 4.x.xx to 5.3.006 and a real remote is required to select the network options to get it to work. Note that I have a wired Ethernet connection to my router rather than a wi-fi connection and the same IP address is always assigned to my box. If the network connection is not automatically established then webif cannot be obtained.

    I’m not sure if a settings restore is possible between 4.x.xxx and 5.3.xxx and if not the network may have to be set up from scratch using a real remote. Can someone else confirm, either way, about a restore between the different versions.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  6. #6
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,376
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,149 Times in 916 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ford1 View Post
    Now unfortunately, the remote is lost, is there a way to flash the receiver using only the hardware on the box?
    Assuming that you manage to get it updated - how are you going to use it without a remote?

    So why not just buy a replacement remote and use that to do the update?
    Last edited by birdman; 12-10-19 at 03:48.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  7. #7
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    6,746
    Thanks
    2,145
    Thanked 1,947 Times in 1,597 Posts
    Can also use an e2 app too to control your box via your smart phone/tablet etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 75 Times in 58 Posts
    I have a android e2 remote for now, and will, once working, order a new remote. I will try the method as posted by adm and see if that works for now.


    thanks for all the suggestions.

  9. #9
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    adm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 298 Times in 236 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_Hazza View Post
    Can also use an e2 app too to control your box via your smart phone/tablet etc.
    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Will this have the same potential problems as with needing the Webif remote for flashing? Doesn't the E2 remote app work via an established wi-fi connection rather than a IR beam to the box?
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  10. #10
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,376
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,149 Times in 916 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adm View Post
    Will this have the same potential problems as with needing the Webif remote for flashing? Doesn't the E2 remote app work via an established wi-fi connection rather than a IR beam to the box?
    Yes. It uses the OpenWebIF API.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  11. #11
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,079
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 337 Times in 269 Posts
    Another thing to note is that you must use a hard wired ethernet connection (or homeplugs). If you use wifi to connect to the network the box cant connect until it restores the backup or you input the wifi settings and you need a remote to do that. I did this successfully with openwebif on an Uno a few years ago where the IR receiver had failed if memory serves me right.
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, VU+ Solo2 running OpenVIX 5.2, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  12. #12
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,513
    Thanks
    5,051
    Thanked 7,697 Times in 5,164 Posts
    Image Manager won't be able to download latest image owing to the URL change a few months ago. You will have to download image on PC and FTP it to /hdd/imagebackups/ You will then be able to flash it using Image Manager.

    You should also be able flash it using Grog's script. I have posted the command in the Linux command thread (link in my signature)

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 75 Times in 58 Posts
    Thanks for all the suggestions guys, ill give abu's suggestion a go later this evening.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.