Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Recordings, but not Live TV, freeze when streamed to PC.

    I use Openwebif to stream live TV and recordings via wi-fi from my box to my PC's and tablet placed in another room. Until recently everything has worked flawlessly, but now recordings freeze after 15-16 seconds playback. If i set the network cache to the max (60000 m/s) in VLC, the recordings will play fine for 1-1 minute and then freeze. I wonder why this happens to only recordings and not live TV and what can i do to solve it?

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    6,710
    Thanks
    2,105
    Thanked 1,932 Times in 1,584 Posts
    Receiver? Image?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    I noticed the same a few weeks back with VLC (and WMPC) and gave up as I was only trying something else out.

    I'll have another look.

  4. #4
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    ET10K, 5.3.002, VLC 3.0.8, MPC-HC 1.7.13, playback freezes soon after the start via OpenWebif.

  5. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    adm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 291 Times in 230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    ET10K, 5.3.002, VLC 3.0.8, MPC-HC 1.7.13, playback freezes soon after the start via OpenWebif.
    Same here

    ET10K, 5.3.002, Windows 10 with latest updates. VLC opened via Webif
    Live TV plays in VLC with no problems. Recorded material freezes soon after starting.

    Tested just before posting after a GUI restart and with no recordings taking place.

    ET10K has a wired ethernet connection to the router. Router and laptop connected via wi-fi and positioned 4 foot apart.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  6. #6
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    This is the m3u file.....

    Code:
    #EXTM3U 
    #EXTVLCOPT--http-reconnect=true 
    #EXTINF:4080,New: Sanditon
    #EXTVLCOPT:program=17609
    http://et10000:8001/file?file=/media/hdd/movie/.Trash/20190915%202058%20-%20ITV%20HD%20-%20New_%20Sanditon.ts

  7. #7
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_Hazza View Post
    Receiver? Image?
    Receiver : Mutant HD2400
    Image: Openvix 5.2.045
    VLC: 3.0.8
    Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit with latest updates

    The receiver has a wired ethernet connection to the router. Router and PC connected via wi-fi and positioned 8 meters apart.
    Last edited by fltk; 17-09-19 at 09:03.

  8. #8
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    I can copy and paste the .ts file from the et10k onto a pc and play the copied file ok.

  9. #9
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    I can copy and paste the .ts file from the et10k onto a pc and play the copied file ok.
    Me too, but that does not solve the problem.

  10. #10
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    I can copy and paste the .ts file from the et10k onto a pc and play the copied file ok.
    Me too, but that does not solve the problem.

  11. #11
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fltk View Post
    Me too, but that does not solve the problem.
    I know, but it confirms that my et10k network connection is ok, and that VLC plays the .ts file.

  12. #12
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,262
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 1,125 Times in 898 Posts
    I have no problem playing a recording from an et8000 on 5.3.002.007.
    Although my VLC is running on a Linux system.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  13. #13
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    Just tried again, freezes after 1:09 and the time bar jumps in 10-20 second intervals and the (frozen) picture changes very occasionally.

  14. #14
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    Transcoding does work at all...

    Code:
    #EXTM3U 
    #EXTVLCOPT--http-reconnect=true 
    #EXTINF:4080,New: Sanditon
    #EXTVLCOPT:program=17609
    http://et10000:8001/file?file=/media/hdd/movie/.Trash/20190915%202058%20-%20ITV%20HD%20-%20New_%20Sanditon.ts?bitrate=400000?width=854?height=480?
    It appears to use port 8001, the same as non-transcoding in #6.

  15. #15
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,542
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 570 Times in 496 Posts
    . last post should have read "doesn't", sorry.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.