Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Azores, Mid Atlantic
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts

    VIX Image 5.3.001 not flashing from USB

    Just trying to update to image 5.3.001 on my VU+ Duo4K and have tried 3 different Kingston USB sticks in both front and rear USB ports.

    Box panel shows reading and asks to press the Power button. This is followed by programming and then Flashing Image - and that's where it stays with no progress bar. I've left it each time for around 10 minutes and then switched off the power and removed the USB stick.

    Turn the power back on and the box reboots back into former working condition image of 5.2.045 which is fine but it would have been nice to update to the latest image.

    I just wanted to raise awareness of this issue with the Duo 4K and will try again on the next image release.
    Combination of Gigablue Quad with 3 tuners, 2.4mtr Prodelin Dish, C120 Invacom Quad LNB gives me top quality HDTV.

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,112
    Thanks
    674
    Thanked 1,739 Times in 1,329 Posts
    Use ImageManager - download Image and flash
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
    Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
    Multibox

  3. #3
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Azores, Mid Atlantic
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts
    Image Manager just asks if I want to change download source
    Combination of Gigablue Quad with 3 tuners, 2.4mtr Prodelin Dish, C120 Invacom Quad LNB gives me top quality HDTV.

  4. #4
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,530
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 569 Times in 495 Posts
    Select OpenVix, it works for me.

  5. #5
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Azores, Mid Atlantic
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts
    That worked a treat, thank you. Wonder why it wouldn't flash through the USB method though?
    Combination of Gigablue Quad with 3 tuners, 2.4mtr Prodelin Dish, C120 Invacom Quad LNB gives me top quality HDTV.

  6. #6
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,112
    Thanks
    674
    Thanked 1,739 Times in 1,329 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by allanapp View Post
    Image Manager just asks if I want to change download source
    The latest ImageManager allows you to download images from OpenViX, OpenPli or OpenATV - as posted choose OpenViX
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
    Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
    Multibox

  7. #7
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by allanapp View Post
    That worked a treat, thank you. Wonder why it wouldn't flash through the USB method though?
    It alternatively may be a solution via pen drive like that;
    You must first install original image and after that Install any image you want.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to kamaxx For This Useful Post:

    deltec (12-09-19)

  9. #8
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,112
    Thanks
    674
    Thanked 1,739 Times in 1,329 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by allanapp View Post
    That worked a treat, thank you. Wonder why it wouldn't flash through the USB method though?
    Some of these receivers are really finicky about USB sticks - often an old usb stick with minimal memory will work better - especially compared to usb 3.0 sticks.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
    Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
    Multibox

  10. #9
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,730
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,044 Posts
    Hi,
    I flashed my Duo4K with my good, old, small 1GB flash drive without problems. Especially larger capacities often make problems.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  11. #10
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,702
    Thanks
    22,698
    Thanked 25,333 Times in 7,320 Posts
    If having issues do as follows:

    Use a MAX 8GB USB stick.
    Formatted FAT32 using HPTOOL: https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...ve-Format-Tool
    Use a REAR USB port.
    Use genuine Kingston stick.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    deltec (29-08-19)

  13. #11
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,730
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,044 Posts
    Hi,
    + remove all other USB devices from the ATB. On my VUs the rear ports seems to have higher priority.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  14. #12
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    afterburn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    123
    Thanked 26 Times in 17 Posts
    Flashed my osmini with the new image (5 3 001) this morning and it has bricked my box. Now I have nothing at all. IMG_20190830_112044.jpgIMG_20190830_112051.jpgIMG_20190830_112245.jpg It goes slowly until the progress bar eventually reaches halfway. then blue screen and receiver stuck on boot. Any ideas.
    IMG_20190830_112314.jpg

    If I reboot after this box is stuck on first openvix screen, Says boot on front display and just hangs..

  15. #13
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,530
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 569 Times in 495 Posts
    … try another usb stick, as advised in posts #8, #9, #10 and #11.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    afterburn (30-08-19)

  17. #14
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,702
    Thanks
    22,698
    Thanked 25,333 Times in 7,320 Posts
    Have you ever updated the bootloader?

    Looks like an old bootloader screen that.

    Try updating the bootloader:
    Code:
    http://www.sat-soft.net/?task=weblink.go&id=222
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  18. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    afterburn (30-08-19),ccs (30-08-19)

  19. #15
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    afterburn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    123
    Thanked 26 Times in 17 Posts
    is that bootloader for the osmini.
    Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.