View Entry Info: DVB subtitles won't disappear in time

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
5.2.044
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
Yes
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
Yes
Attachments
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    DVB subtitles won't disappear in time

    Hello!

    Fresh USB flash of new box Duo 4k with 5.2.044. Using 1 x FBC DVB-C tuner modules.

    Channels that use DVB subtitles behave oddly: subs appear at the correct time but they do not disappear in time. What I mean is, subsequent subs appear all at the correct time but the previous one does not disappear in between subs. The new one just gets rendered on top of the previous one. That's fine (although that's not how they used to work: every sub used to disappear before the next one). But, after there's no need for next sub, the last sub stays on the screen for about 10 seconds before disappearing (unless there's more subs to render on top of that). In addition, when commercial break starts, the last sub that appeared will re-appear for a few seconds, then disappear and re-appear for a few seconds right after the commercials have ended.

    It seems that the system isn't respecting the command for the subtitle to disappear in time. All settings are default, except timezone and language (channels are also tuned). Subtitle settings are too, except the timing for disappearing subs when there is no end time is set to 1 sec.

    I tested a number of old images and the newest I could find that had the subs working normally was 5.2.032. It's not just one channel, it's all the channels I follow with several different broadcast operators. External subs are not used, only DVB. Nothing special in the log.
    VU+ Duo 4k + 1 x FBC DVB-C :: OpenVIX 5.2.044 (main) // VU+ Duo2 + 1 x Dual DVB-C :: OpenVIX 5.1.024 (spare)

  2. #2
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,801
    Thanks
    4,933
    Thanked 7,353 Times in 4,958 Posts
    We added a commit to fix an issue for UK subtitles. Can you please attach your debug log.

    PLI had the commit, but have reverted it with no logs. So would be nice to re-add it so it works fine for everyone

  3. #3
    Member

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the reply. I have attached 2 logs, for 2 different channels. Both are fresh from boot, tuned directly into the channel in question. Both are FTA.


    Enigma2_debug_2019-07-12_09-07-24.log

    Enigma2_debug_2019-07-12_09-49-46.log
    VU+ Duo 4k + 1 x FBC DVB-C :: OpenVIX 5.2.044 (main) // VU+ Duo2 + 1 x Dual DVB-C :: OpenVIX 5.1.024 (spare)

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to pmatil For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (12-07-19)

  5. #4
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,801
    Thanks
    4,933
    Thanked 7,353 Times in 4,958 Posts
    Thanks. We will have to wait for simonc to return to forum.

  6. #5
    ViX Development Friend

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 35 Times in 18 Posts
    A few questions:
    - was this live TV?
    - if so, were you timeshifting?
    - were these incremental subtitles, i.e. ones that are created in real time on news or sport programmes?
    - what channels do you tend to see the problem on?

    I've noticed that the code for DVB subtitles doesn't seem to honour the broadcast lifespan information and just uses the default, so if a channel is putting consecutive subtitles in different places on the screen (e.g to avoid broadcast information) then things get messy.

  7. #6
    Member

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just checked and it was 034 that had working subs. Sorry for the typo in the original post.
    VU+ Duo 4k + 1 x FBC DVB-C :: OpenVIX 5.2.044 (main) // VU+ Duo2 + 1 x Dual DVB-C :: OpenVIX 5.1.024 (spare)

  8. #7
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    6,552
    Thanks
    1,939
    Thanked 1,872 Times in 1,534 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pmatil View Post
    Just checked and it was 034 that had working subs. Sorry for the typo in the original post.
    Can you answer the Qs as per post #4 @simonc


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.