Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    CAM, twin tuner and recording

    I have a Zgemma H7C and would like it to work with terrestrial signal which requires a CAM (CI+) and smartcard. OpenPLi 7.1 doesn't work, so I give OpenViX a try. Configure via menu and get these settings:
    config.ci.0.canDescrambleMultipleServices=no
    config.recording.ecm_data=scrambled+ecm

    Watch a live channel works. I now press recording button and start a recording on current event. After zapping to another channel, the picture is black!

    Please, any advice:
    - Have I missed some configuration?
    - Is this problem related to H7C box, i.e. does it work on other hardware?

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    6,575
    Thanks
    1,948
    Thanked 1,876 Times in 1,538 Posts
    Describe you setup? Cables to your receiver, tuner config for each tuner. Use WebIf to take proper screenshots so we can see your tuner configs etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,830
    Thanks
    622
    Thanked 1,578 Times in 1,225 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by -M- View Post
    I have a Zgemma H7C and would like it to work with terrestrial signal which requires a CAM (CI+) and smartcard. OpenPLi 7.1 doesn't work, so I give OpenViX a try. Configure via menu and get these settings:
    config.ci.0.canDescrambleMultipleServices=no
    config.recording.ecm_data=scrambled+ecm

    Watch a live channel works. I now press recording button and start a recording on current event. After zapping to another channel, the picture is black!

    Please, any advice:
    - Have I missed some configuration?
    - Is this problem related to H7C box, i.e. does it work on other hardware?
    If you watch a non terrestrial channel(or something that doesn't need the CAM) and record the terrestrial channel does that work?
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
    Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
    Dinobot Mini 4K
    Multibox

  4. #4
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Tuner A, satellite isn't in use.
    Tuner B and C is configure for Terrestrial and one channel search have been done (after edit of terrestrial.xml so it found the muxes). The same antenn signal via a splitter.

    I haven't tested all things that needs to work. For example be able to watch a recorded event. (well, I have tested more, but only in OpenPLi). With OpenViX I just begin and found the same basic problem. But I test more...

    Timer recording of a scrambled channel while watching a free channel (on another mux):
    - Picture of the live channel ok.
    - The recording is done, but only possible to watch ~13 seconds (without smartcard nothing, so it is scrambled).
    - During playback the time on the timeline jumps quickly.

    Made on offline decode. The result file only have ~13 seconds picture. If the smartcard isn't inserted, it popups a message about that. However the possibility to watch doesn't change.

  5. #5
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I can record a free channel and watch a free channel on another mux. So both tuners is working. The recording is possible to view.

  6. #6
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,830
    Thanks
    622
    Thanked 1,578 Times in 1,225 Posts
    I have a vague memory of issues with 2 tuners and a single CAM card e.g on Google I found this:
    "e.g. the official CI+ CAM for Canal Digital does not support decoding multiple channels."

    .. I also think I have read similar issues with one CAM card depending on the provider like this:
    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...nt-not-working.

    So I guess it might depend on your Card or the setup.....
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
    Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
    Dinobot Mini 4K
    Multibox

  7. #7
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I don't want to descramble more than one service. It is one of the configurations need to be done and I have done.

    I have no need to assign different services to different CA, as in the linked thread. However it seems they have partially catch the same problem.

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,049
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 316 Times in 254 Posts
    When using a CAM you cannot decode 2 channels at the same time - its a limitation of the cam system. When recording one channel you cannot view another encrypted channel.
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenViIX 5.2, VU+ Solo2 running OpenVIX 5.2, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    Sony 40BX400 TV, Onkyo TX-SR607 Amp, Sony BDP-S3700 Bluray & an android box.

  9. #9
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    First you wrote, yes. Last part: Why...

    When recording one (scrambled) channel the CAM is not in use, since it is no descrambling taken place (the system is configured for this). So why not view another encrypted channel? The CAM should be free for this purpose.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,049
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 316 Times in 254 Posts
    It may not descramble while recording but it must get the ecm from somewhere to store it so the CAM will not be free.
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenViIX 5.2, VU+ Solo2 running OpenVIX 5.2, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    Sony 40BX400 TV, Onkyo TX-SR607 Amp, Sony BDP-S3700 Bluray & an android box.

  11. #11
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    The ECM's are in the TS stream (from air), even if no CAM.

    PS. I have verified that ECM's are in the ts file, even if no CAM inserted in the box.
    Last edited by -M-; 12-07-19 at 08:57.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.