Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: Wrong Time

  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wrong Time

    Edision os mio 4K
    OpenViX 5.2.043
    Problem wrong time:
    Menu>Setup>Time>
    Timezone Area US
    Timezone Central
    Sync Time Using NTP
    NTP Server pool.ntp.org
    Sync Time Every 30 Minutes

    Turn Off Internet
    Go To No Channel or Tune Fail
    OpenViX will lose accurate time

    It's important to keep accurate time every if the internet connection is loss or there's no signal

    I have multiboot
    and other images do NOT have this problem

  2. #2
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wrong Time

    Edision os mio 4K
    OpenViX 5.2.043
    Problem wrong time:
    Menu>Setup>Time>
    Timezone Area US
    Timezone Central
    Sync Time Using NTP
    NTP Server pool.ntp.org
    Sync Time Every 30 Minutes

    Turn Off Internet
    Go To No Channel or Tune Fail
    OpenViX will lose accurate time

    It's important to keep accurate time even if the internet connection is loss or there's no signal

    I have multiboot
    SatDreamGR TNAP does NOT have this problem --- LegitFTA download

  3. #3
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,136
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 1,093 Times in 874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dondyall View Post
    It's important to keep accurate time even if the internet connection is loss or there's no signal
    But not actually possible. That's why protocols like NTP exist.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  4. #4
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,801
    Thanks
    4,932
    Thanked 7,353 Times in 4,958 Posts
    Does it go to a different timezone or just random time? Does it slowly change or change 30 minutes after tune failed?

    You'd expect time to continue at ongoing rate if it can't re-sync. It shouldn't corrupt if there is no signal lock or internet access

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    el bandido (05-07-19)

  6. #5
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tried Experiment again
    to get Wrong Time
    Turned Off Internet
    Go To No Channel or Tune Fail
    OpenViX lost accurate time in less than 30 minutes
    Reverts to 6:50PM Wed December 31
    Wrong Time

    Note the Timezone Area and Timezone stayed the same
    No Change

    Checked Menu>Setup>Time>
    Timezone Area US
    Timezone Central
    Sync Time Using NTP
    NTP Server pool.ntp.org
    Sync Time Every 30 Minutes

    Turned On Internet
    Went to a channel
    OpenViX immediately goes back to correct time

  7. #6
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,136
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 1,093 Times in 874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dondyall View Post
    Reverts to 6:50PM Wed December 31
    What year? If 1969 that's the system clock resetting to 0. Which is probably easier to look into than if it is some other year.

    EDIT: seems possible, given that Dec 31, 1969 was a Wednesday.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to birdman For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (06-07-19)

  9. #7
    Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    My test defaulted to January. I do not know which year.
    Looks like the image tries to get the time from the transponder since the internet is not working? There is no time to get on a dead channel, so the time defaults?

    What I do understand is this:
    Why disconnect the internet?
    Why tune to a dead channel?

    Doing these things on purpose makes little sense. But if these things are unavoidable, then try changing the time sync from 30 minutes to once a day.

  10. #8
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Moving the C bank dish will cause signal loss
    Weather events can cause bad reception signal loss
    Satellite or network signal loss
    Turning off the internet to save energy
    All the above prevent PVR recording
    caused by wrong time

    The SatDreamGR TNAP image will keep accurate date and time despite losing internet connection and no signal

  11. #9
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I find that the clock on the front panel seems to freeze when I tune to a radio channel or use the YouTube plugin. It often takes a bit of time after switching to a TV channel to start displaying the correct time. This is one of the reasons I want it to display the channel number rather than the time.

  12. #10
    Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dondyall View Post
    Moving the C bank dish will cause signal loss
    Weather events can cause bad reception signal loss
    Satellite or network signal loss
    Turning off the internet to save energy
    All the above prevent PVR recording
    caused by wrong time

    The SatDreamGR TNAP image will keep accurate date and time despite losing internet connection and no signal
    Set the box to time sync once a day, and reboot the box when you have internet connected. Or quit turning off the internet.

    What the time does when it is supposed to sync and there is no internet is really a preference. If it is changed to satisfy your needs, then someone else may have time issues. The only other solution would be to add more options in the time menu.

  13. #11
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,136
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 1,093 Times in 874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by el bandido View Post
    Or quit turning off the internet.
    Perhaps he doesn't have permanent access to it?

    What the time does when it is supposed to sync and there is no internet is really a preference.
    No, it's a coding issue. If it tries to sync and fails then it really shouldn't change the current time at all.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to birdman For This Useful Post:

    el bandido (07-07-19)

  15. #12
    Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    I see it as a preference.
    Right now, it looks like If time fails to internet time sync, then it reverts to transponder time sync. This would work great for some people.

    Having the time sync only when internet is available if sync with internet is chosen would also be nice,

  16. #13
    Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    I tested on a dead transponder or dead channel again, and find the clock has reset to 12-31-1969. Birdman is correct.

  17. #14
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,136
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 1,093 Times in 874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by el bandido View Post
    I see it as a preference.
    So you're suggesting that there should be an option such that if you are using NTP and it can't reach any servers at any point that it should completely ignore the current time and forcibly reset the system clock to 0?
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  18. #15
    Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    No.
    The preference I see is falling back to transponder time sync if internet time sync is not available.
    Like you said, the reset to 0 should not take place. Would be nice if the time did not did not make any change if the only option is to sync to 0

    Here is how I think the image acts now after a few tests:
    If internet time sync is chosen, then it is used.
    If internet time sync is chosen and there is no internet then transponder time sync is used.
    If internet time sync is chosen when there is no internet, And the current channel being watched is on a dead transponder, then the time syncs to 0.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.