Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Member spiderman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Two receivers, one motorized system, and a couple of hiccups.

    Hi there,

    As the title says, I got one Vu+Solo2 in my bedroom running a cable to a twin dual output LNB. And then another Mutant HD51 in the living room. The mutant is controlling the motorized system as is set up as this in tuner configuration. The VU+ is set up as a simple tuner pointing at 19.2 Astra. So obviously I can only watch TV upstairs when the dish is pointing at 19.2.

    I am ok with that. The problem is, sometimes, even when I leave the dish pointing at 19.2 downstairs, I can not receive any channels upstairs, so I need to move the dish to another satellite, and then back to 19.2.

    Do you guys think the dish may have been misaligned and the signal is not as strong as it should be? Does anyone know why this is occurring? How much would it be to pay a satellite installer to realign the dish? Thanks for your help.

    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Hi there, do you pick up all 19.2 channels/transponders and also other satellites ok using Mutant?

  3. #3
    Member spiderman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    As far as I know yes I do pick up most of the channels in 19.2 although I watch mainly Spanish channels. But as I said in my original post, sometimes, for some unknown reason, the the picture disappears upstairs (VU+) and I have to change satellites from 19.2 to 28.2 and again to 19.2 (Mutant) to recover picture upstairs.

    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk
    Last edited by spiderman01; 21-03-19 at 16:56.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Do you pick up other satellites ok with Mutant? if so dish should be aligned ok.
    Also try scanning 19.2 both with vu+ and Mutant, might be some channels need updating.

  5. #5
    Member spiderman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I pick up quite a few satellites with the Mutant HD51 (28.2, 19.2, 13.0 etc) and all seems OK. I don't scan channels but I do upload channel lists from vhannibal so I don't think that's the problem.

    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    It won't take long to scan 19.2 then you can check signal strength on receivers, that might help you in finding out if dish is slightly misaligned.

  7. #7
    Member spiderman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Very true. However, why can I see 19.2 channels downstairs in MutantHD51 and, as I
    Say, seldomly, the picture disappears upstairs in VU+Solo 2?


    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,733
    Thanks
    4,914
    Thanked 7,317 Times in 4,936 Posts
    Tuners have different sensitivities. Cabling in terms of length and quality also have effect. There may be some play in the motor too.

  9. #9
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,038
    Thanks
    630
    Thanked 253 Times in 238 Posts
    If i may i have solo2 in extension controlling motor on one tuner.Other tuner is fixed on 28.2 feed
    Feed from motorised on et 8000
    Client mode on tm nano se from solo2.
    I mainly look at 19.2 on tm and et but if i change sat on the tm it controls the movement to other sat say 13.0.
    My et 8000 then wont show channels on 19.2 as its moved to 13.0 but they are viewable.
    Also using vhannibal auto update.
    Maybe you need to check favourites and move to other list to view?

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by spiderman01 View Post
    Very true. However, why can I see 19.2 channels downstairs in MutantHD51 and, as I
    Say, seldomly, the picture disappears upstairs in VU+Solo 2?


    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk
    as Abu says, receivers have different sensitive signal capabilities.
    You really need to check signal strength from satellites on your motorised side to eliminate misalignment as the issue.If you find thatyou are not picking some channels or some transponders from these satellites then dish alignment is problem.

  11. #11
    Member spiderman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    If i may i have solo2 in extension controlling motor on one tuner.Other tuner is fixed on 28.2 feed
    Feed from motorised on et 8000
    Client mode on tm nano se from solo2.
    I mainly look at 19.2 on tm and et but if i change sat on the tm it controls the movement to other sat say 13.0.
    My et 8000 then wont show channels on 19.2 as its moved to 13.0 but they are viewable.
    Also using vhannibal auto update.
    Maybe you need to check favourites and move to other list to view?
    You should have started your own thread mate.

    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,038
    Thanks
    630
    Thanked 253 Times in 238 Posts
    I am not having issues as i thought it might be of use,maybe not for you,no worries.

  13. #13
    Member spiderman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by linsladeboy View Post
    as Abu says, receivers have different sensitive signal capabilities.
    You really need to check signal strength from satellites on your motorised side to eliminate misalignment as the issue.If you find thatyou are not picking some channels or some transponders from these satellites then dish alignment is problem.
    Thank you very much for your help mate. I think this may be the issue. I will try to check signal strength when I get a couple of days off and I will let you know.

    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    220
    Thanked 170 Times in 151 Posts
    Why donít you forget using the tuner on the solo and use client mode on it instead?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Member spiderman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TK4|2|1 View Post
    Why donít you forget using the tuner on the solo and use client mode on it instead?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    I would love to know go to do that!!! Lol. Could you please direct me to a guide where I can learn how to do it please? Thanks

    Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.