Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member techygirl's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

    Alternative Weather Plugin

    Is there an alternative Weather plugin that, when installed, will appear on the front display of my ET8500 box? I am currently using Yahoo Weather but it has not been working for a while and I really miss it.

    Thanks
    Xtrend ET8500 x 3 tuners Openvix 1TB hard drive VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Another ET8500 x 4 tuners 1TB VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Octagon SF128 OpenATV now changed to a Formuler 1 running VIX (yet to customise)
    tele'mote app

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,643
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,292 Times in 1,017 Posts
    Hi,
    I do not know about your display but I know Foreca and XMBC-Weather. The later is a kashmir plugin.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  3. #3
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,441
    Thanks
    548
    Thanked 1,407 Times in 1,100 Posts
    Unfortunately (again) yahoo have changed everything since January 3r so I guess the scripts need changing for it to work...... and I no longer have an ET8500 to test.
    Have you tried OpenATV to see if their LCD skins still work? I know in teh past they have used a different weather api just cannot remember which.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Dinobot Mini 4K (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  4. #4
    Member techygirl's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    So am I right in thinking that only Yahoo Weather works on the LCD display (I do have Foreca Weather & Weather Plugin on the blue button) and there is no way of allocating another plugin?
    Xtrend ET8500 x 3 tuners Openvix 1TB hard drive VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Another ET8500 x 4 tuners 1TB VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Octagon SF128 OpenATV now changed to a Formuler 1 running VIX (yet to customise)
    tele'mote app

  5. #5
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,441
    Thanks
    548
    Thanked 1,407 Times in 1,100 Posts
    You would have to edit the skin...... which is why I wondered if ATV still worked.
    Now if you installed the ET8500 multiboot bootloader you could install both and flip between them to test!
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Dinobot Mini 4K (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    techygirl (09-02-19)

  7. #6
    Member techygirl's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    You would have to edit the skin...... which is why I wondered if ATV still worked.
    Now if you installed the ET8500 multiboot bootloader you could install both and flip between them to test!
    To do this can I just install the multiboot bootloader on my existing setup (VIX) and then install ATV? Or would I have to wipe my box and start from scratch. (Don't really want to do this as my boxes have been working fine just by doing regular updates and maintenance).
    Xtrend ET8500 x 3 tuners Openvix 1TB hard drive VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Another ET8500 x 4 tuners 1TB VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Octagon SF128 OpenATV now changed to a Formuler 1 running VIX (yet to customise)
    tele'mote app

  8. #7
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,441
    Thanks
    548
    Thanked 1,407 Times in 1,100 Posts
    To be honest don‘t know! I always started with the multibootloader
    But providing you backup settings or better still run an Image backup then you can if necesary usb flash from the image backup.
    After you flash the multibootloader, then when you power on it will ask you for OS1 or OS2 .. just select OS1 and see what happens.
    If you do this you always need to remember which Image is in OS1/OS2 as unlike the current multiboot available on many boxes it doesn‘t know what is in the image (if I still had the ET8500, I probably now know how to do this ......but too late!)
    Last edited by twol; 10-02-19 at 18:34.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Dinobot Mini 4K (C/S) into Giga 4K.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.