Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: tune failed

  1. #1
    Senior Member kokojnr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

    tune failed

    please anyone able to help? seems receiver tuner has gone bad.

    I have flashed without settings restore, connected another receiver to same signal wire and it works ok, hence it isnt the wire.

    Attached images are the tuner settings
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Edision OS MEGA TRIPLE TUNER COMBO
    Edision OS MINI+ Plus

    Formuler F1
    Triviar Alpha

  2. #2
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    583
    Thanked 246 Times in 231 Posts
    I thought you were on an older image but will ask what version is your abm as you might have to delete it and reinstall from plugins feed.
    Last edited by cactikid; 07-01-19 at 20:52.

  3. #3
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,013
    Thanks
    4,777
    Thanked 7,048 Times in 4,758 Posts
    What were your tests on the other receiver?

    Is the LNB a sky quad LNB. If so, did you have two receivers (switched on) connected to the LNB?

  4. #4
    Senior Member kokojnr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    What were your tests on the other receiver?

    Is the LNB a sky quad LNB. If so, did you have two receivers (switched on) connected to the LNB?
    Yes it's sky multi room connection, one receiver in the lounge the other in the room.

    The formuler belongs to my friend, he had the problem so i asked he bring it over to mine to check.

    I disconnected one of my receiver and then connected the formuler, tune failed.

    I reconnected my receiver and my receiver works ok.
    Edision OS MEGA TRIPLE TUNER COMBO
    Edision OS MINI+ Plus

    Formuler F1
    Triviar Alpha

  5. #5
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,013
    Thanks
    4,777
    Thanked 7,048 Times in 4,758 Posts
    Did you connect signal wires to both tuners on the formuler?

  6. #6
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    583
    Thanked 246 Times in 231 Posts
    Do you have sky q?

  7. #7
    Senior Member kokojnr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Did you connect signal wires to both tuners on the formuler?
    Yes I did connect both wires
    Edision OS MEGA TRIPLE TUNER COMBO
    Edision OS MINI+ Plus

    Formuler F1
    Triviar Alpha

  8. #8
    Senior Member kokojnr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    Do you have sky q?
    No I don't have sky Q
    Edision OS MEGA TRIPLE TUNER COMBO
    Edision OS MINI+ Plus

    Formuler F1
    Triviar Alpha

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to kokojnr For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (08-01-19)

  10. #9
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    583
    Thanked 246 Times in 231 Posts
    When you connect up your box to feed is it set to 28.2 and not another sat ,some people move the dish to point to another sat.
    Can the other box run a non abm scan to see if it finds channels on that sat.

  11. #10
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,013
    Thanks
    4,777
    Thanked 7,048 Times in 4,758 Posts
    Some Sky quad LNBs have a weird fault. It only exhibits itself when two receivers are connected. To rule this out, power off the other receivers at the mains, connect the formuler to the same wires as the official receiver. In tuner configuration, set both tuners to automatic. If they both succeed, then the tuners are fine.

  12. #11
    Senior Member kokojnr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Some Sky quad LNBs have a weird fault. It only exhibits itself when two receivers are connected. To rule this out, power off the other receivers at the mains, connect the formuler to the same wires as the official receiver. In tuner configuration, set both tuners to automatic. If they both succeed, then the tuners are fine.
    I will try this later this evening and update here.

    My current set up:

    Sky quad LNB with sky dish, signal wires terminate in lounge and bedroom.

    I use Triviar Alpha in lounge and edision os mega in bedroom (official receiver is decommissioned)

    Both receivers work simultaneously without problem.

    It's only my friends formuler receiver that is having this tune failed issue when connected to the signal wire in both mine and his house.
    Edision OS MEGA TRIPLE TUNER COMBO
    Edision OS MINI+ Plus

    Formuler F1
    Triviar Alpha

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to kokojnr For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (08-01-19)

  14. #12
    Senior Member kokojnr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    When you connect up your box to feed is it set to 28.2 and not another sat ,some people move the dish to point to another sat.
    Can the other box run a non abm scan to see if it finds channels on that sat.
    The dish hasn't been moved, if at all I moved it, I guess the other receivers will have same problem ?

    I will try a non ABM scan tonight when I get back from and update here.
    Edision OS MEGA TRIPLE TUNER COMBO
    Edision OS MINI+ Plus

    Formuler F1
    Triviar Alpha

  15. #13
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,013
    Thanks
    4,777
    Thanked 7,048 Times in 4,758 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kokojnr View Post
    I will try a non ABM scan tonight when I get back from and update here.
    Make sure you try one tuner at a time.

    Quote Originally Posted by kokojnr View Post
    Both receivers work simultaneously without problem.
    Are you certain the particular port of LNB is used/activated? Sometimes they fail on a particular quadrant of spectrum. May be an idea to test with the cable that you are using on tuner A and confirmed to be working to avoid the messing around with other receiver.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (08-01-19)

  17. #14
    Senior Member kokojnr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
    Seems to be problem with ABM, uninstalled then reinstalled and tuners working again
    Edision OS MEGA TRIPLE TUNER COMBO
    Edision OS MINI+ Plus

    Formuler F1
    Triviar Alpha

  18. #15
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kokojnr View Post
    Seems to be problem with ABM, uninstalled then reinstalled and tuners working again
    I have similar problem with OS Mega all started a few months back solved most from advise here but annoying thing is Im missing 3 channels, "no tune" , I have now got new setup , new ,bigger dish,universal quad LNB , but , three that I watch are gone ,Blaze,Travel ,Food Network , really doing my head in ,,if anyone can help.. If It helps I had lots more "Missing" but uninstalled ABM and reinstalled ,done trick .
    Also when trying to do blind scan , it will say tuner nor configured correctly ,, noticed that in "set up " the top range is set for 1275mhz but when I get scan going , in the top of page its says 1175mhz ,, is this just a typo or actual limit ,, glitch with my machine or Vix? running 5.1 ,,, Cheers in advance

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.