Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Miraclebox Premium mini HD stuck on "Booting"

    I tried updating my box to OpenATV 6.3 and now I am stuck on "Booting". I've tried a few bootloaders for the box but then I read you have to use the bootloader for the Miraclebox by OpenATV ?. Can someone shed some light on this

  2. #2
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,560
    Thanks
    22,530
    Thanked 25,206 Times in 7,266 Posts
    Was 6.2 booting ok? 6.3 is a public beta so expect issues.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks i didn't know. Which is the correct bootloader for the box and best image ?. I just want to get it back booting. Would doing it through the RS232 help ?

  4. #4
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,830
    Thanks
    622
    Thanked 1,578 Times in 1,225 Posts
    Assuming you have a Premium Mini, thats the bootloader you should have installed ... last update was 25.5.2014 so guessing you probably had this installed.
    Its the same bootloader for all images.... and you shouldn‘t have to change this for any receiver unless there is a specific update from the manufacturer.

    So either flash last OpenViX image or an ATv image (6.2)
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
    Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
    Dinobot Mini 4K
    Multibox

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    right I'll give that a go brb

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I tried that, flashed the bootloader then OpenATV from the correct place and it sticks on Booting., the TV picks up the hdmi signal but nothing. I then found an old backup on a usb stick I made about 18 months ago so I tried that. It flashed, then it start to boot to the older openatv splash screen then suddenly the tv goes pink followed by a colour wash distortion and two loudish clicks and the box goes back to Booting and sticks with no picture on the TV.

    I am beginning to think this a hardware problem not a software. I just tried to flash it with openvix-4.2.030.release-mbmini_usb. It got as far as the Miraclebox logo then same again, scrambled colours on screen and 2 loudish clicks , Miraclebox logo disappears and the box displays Booting.

    I'm beginning the boxes time is up. Is it possible to try and recover these via the serial port like dreamup ?
    Last edited by specialized; 19-12-18 at 14:43.

  7. #7
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by specialized View Post
    I tried that, flashed the bootloader then OpenATV from the correct place and it sticks on Booting., the TV picks up the hdmi signal but nothing. I then found an old backup on a usb stick I made about 18 months ago so I tried that. It flashed, then it start to boot to the older openatv splash screen then suddenly the tv goes pink followed by a colour wash distortion and two loudish clicks and the box goes back to Booting and sticks with no picture on the TV.

    I am beginning to think this a hardware problem not a software. I just tried to flash it with openvix-4.2.030.release-mbmini_usb. It got as far as the Miraclebox logo then same again, scrambled colours on screen and 2 loudish clicks , Miraclebox logo disappears and the box displays Booting.

    I'm beginning the boxes time is up. Is it possible to try and recover these via the serial port like dreamup ?

    I ordered a new tuner and its not that. I flashed both bootloaders and tried OpenATV and the older openvix. They both go through the motions and to REBOOTING but they hang on REBOOTING and nothing on screen. I reid the scart out just in case the HDMI is knackered but its the same.
    So my question is,
    Is there anyway to revive the box either flashing or jtagging image or bootloader 9 bootloader tried)? . Any guides would be helpful. I have jtagged a vu solo + duo so with guidance I should be OK

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    removed ""

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Sorry for rabbiting on guys I should have said:-

    Is it possible to flash/recover the bootloader or flash an image using the RS232 socket on the box ?. If so could you please tell me how it's done and which program files I use for the Premium Mini HD. I have searched but I can't find anything.
    I've tried tonnes of sticks most work OK, then I flashed the bootloader and used every image that's going. The box flashes fine both the loader and images but after a reboot the box just hangs on "Booting". So frustrating, gerrrrrrrrrr !!!!
    Thanks all

  10. #10
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,811
    Thanks
    4,933
    Thanked 7,361 Times in 4,964 Posts
    I don't think you can flash the bootloader by serial cable.

    Was there an answer to this?
    Was 6.2 booting ok?
    Disconnect all signal wires to tuners, disconnect all storage devices. Flash OpenATV 6.2.

    Question 2. Does it go through the motions of flashing?
    Question 3. Does it complete the flashing process?

  11. #11
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,811
    Thanks
    4,933
    Thanked 7,361 Times in 4,964 Posts
    Question 4. Start enigma2 in console mode. Guide to linux commands in my signature if you need them.

  12. #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Question 1. Was 6.2 booting Ok ?
    A: Yes it was booting fine

    Question 2. Does it go through the motions of flashing?
    A: Yes it flashes the bootloader and any of the many flashes I've tried OK with no problems. I formatted all sticks using YSB Formatter to FAT32 before each flash

    Question 3. Does it complete the flashing process?
    A: Yes is goes right through the motions with no problems. It reboots so when it does I do not press the up arrow, I just leave it which at this point it starts to boot and goes to the "booting" on the display and hangs there forever.
    My TV picks up the HDMI but that's as far as it gets.I have left it for an hour but nothing. I even took out every cable bar the usb stick and power but it's the same.


    Question 4. Start enigma2 in console mode. Guide to linux commands in my signature if you need them.

    A: Sorry but I don't know how to start enigma2 in console mode

    Thanks for your help

  13. #13
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I forgot to ask,
    Are there any capacitors likely to blow and cause this "booting" fault ?. I do know that 1 or 2 other receivers can get stuck on red light or BooT message and a cap is at fault, just a stab in the dark

  14. #14
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    18,811
    Thanks
    4,933
    Thanked 7,361 Times in 4,964 Posts
    Have a look at the guide in my signature.

    I would recommend you stop flashing bootloaders for now.

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks for the help and advise abu, its much appreciated. I have connected the box to my laptop via null modem rs232. I don't know the boxes IP for PuTTy and it's not showing the boxes in MAC or cmd arp -a so I cannot connect. The boxes Ethernet connection flashes when its stuck on booting.
    Is there any other way of flashing these boxes other than USB ?. Is it worth me flashing with very early fw and bootloader just to try and get it going ?
    Last edited by specialized; 29-12-18 at 11:52.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.