Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Multiboot crash

  1. #1
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    890
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts

    Multiboot crash

    I have 2 instances of vix installed on 2 different partitions, So I can try different settings and things and have a good image to revert back to, should things get messed up.
    The problem is If I try switching from one vix straight to the other vix, the box crashes. I have to boot into another image, say pli, then boot into the other vix.
    Anybody else tried this, does it crash for you?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Debug logs please
    Menu/setup/system/logs/settings debug enabled and to hdd or usb

    Are you using bootmode 1 or 12?
    I flip between images all the type, so should not happen.

    only difference between OpenPli and OpenViX restart to another image in bootmode 1, is that Pli builds a STARTUP file, viX uses the one in the system
    Bootmode 12 is the same.
    So can you also filezilla the STARTUP files (STARTUP, STARTUP_X where X is 1 to 4) to your PC and post here. They are in /boot

    Also add /etc/fstab

    Have you done a settings backup from anothe receiver at any time or edit the fstab??
    Last edited by twol; 02-12-18 at 08:52.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  3. #3
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Can you also add OpenViX version you are trying to reboot from?
    and are you saying that ViX -->> ViX fails with a crash and ViX -> OpenPli -> Vix works??
    Last edited by twol; 02-12-18 at 09:45.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  4. #4
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    890
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Can you also add OpenViX version you are trying to reboot from?
    and are you saying that ViX -->> ViX fails with a crash and ViX -> OpenPli -> Vix works??
    Thanks for the reply twol.
    Yes vix 013->vix 015=crash
    Vix 015->vix 013=crash
    Vix->OpenPli->Vix= ok
    Vix-> Openatv -> vix=ok

    I have vix version 5.2.013 and 5.2.015

    Iíll upload some debug and crash logs later.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to TK4|2|1 For This Useful Post:

    twol (02-12-18)

  6. #5
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Interesting! ViX has no idea whats in the image slot, so the process is the same for each slot - regardless of what in it - ViX, Pli or ATV. ... but there are slight changes in rel 15 to provide more information, so need the logs....especially the crash logs
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    TK4|2|1 (02-12-18)

  8. #6
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    890
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts
    Enigma2_crash_2018-12-02_09-05-32.log

    crash log
    i havent editted fstab, you still want me to post it?

  9. #7
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TK4|2|1 View Post
    Enigma2_crash_2018-12-02_09-05-32.log

    crash log
    i havent editted fstab, you still want me to post it?
    Having seen the crash log absolutely!!! You have a modified boot partition
    Can you also tell me what is in /boot

    This should be fixable .... but need the info
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  10. #8
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    890
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts
    I have 5 files
    OpenATV
    OpenVix
    STARTUP
    STARTUP_3
    STARTUP_4


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  11. #9
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    890
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts
    Last edited by TK4|2|1; 02-12-18 at 12:01.

  12. #10
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TK4|2|1 View Post

    Cannot find anything in rar ...not sure which program used.
    Anyway, unzip my zip and copy STARTUP_1 and STARTUP_2 to /boot

    should then work .... somehow those files have been deleted from /boot which is a symbolic link to the boot partition

    what are OpenATV OpenVix in /boot?? did you rename the STARTUP's??

    STARTUP1&2.zip
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    TK4|2|1 (02-12-18)

  14. #11
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    890
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts
    Thanks Twol.
    Yeah I renamed them, so I could remember which image was which.
    Can I safely delete them, once Iíve uploaded your 2 files?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  15. #12
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TK4|2|1 View Post
    Thanks Twol.
    Yeah I renamed them, so I could remember which image was which.
    Can I safely delete them, once I’ve uploaded your 2 files?
    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Yes, you can delete them.
    Thats why ViX tells you which image/ver is in the slot, OpenPli just tell you which Distro, whereas OpenATV and their clones leave you to remember (pretty useless when you have a memory like mine)... which is why you did that!!
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    TK4|2|1 (02-12-18)

  17. #13
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    890
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 166 Times in 149 Posts
    Thanks for your help twol, all working again.
    Now I just need to figure out what has changed in the EPGselection.py that is causing my custom file to crash the epg in 015


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  18. #14
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TK4|2|1 View Post
    Thanks for your help twol, all working again.
    Now I just need to figure out what has changed in the EPGselection.py that is causing my custom file to crash the epg in 015
    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Lots of changes in there.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

  19. #15
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    4,870
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 1,027 Times in 822 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TK4|2|1 View Post
    Now I just need to figure out what has changed in the EPGselection.py that is causing my custom file to crash the epg in 015
    IIRC, various things to do with ensuring the EPG doesn't walk right when you go down between channels.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.