Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Technomate TM-7102 - started buzzing - is it dying/

    Moved house 8 weeks ago and finally got around to reconnecting my TM 7102 to the TV (for terrestrial HD viewing and replay of HDD recordings, while researching a motorised dish installation - other post!).

    There's quite a buzzy noise coming from what I think is the PSU/transformer board. When first turned on, there was a screaming noise from the fan. A replug and switch off/on at the back seemed to deal with that.

    I thought all was working fine - we had to re-tune all channels to get the full Freeview set. Watching BBC 1 HD a little later, though, signal kept dropping out momentarily. We have an amplified distributed TV connection from our loft, with a loft aerial directly facing and close to the Wrekin transmitter. Our TV has perfect vision off the same aerial feed, so I'm not sure it's a signal issue and possibly a sign of imminent failure.

    As I'm about to invest in a top quality dish and motor to take in as much as I can get, I'm also considering running cables to a 2nd room, so, if the receiver is about to die, acquiring a new one isn't really a problem.

    On the other hand, if it's a quick and easy fix, that saves my open/patched channels without having immediately to get to learn a newer technology receiver!

    Any hints/tips - I have put in a message direct to TM too.

  2. #2
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Sounds like some the electrolytic caps are gone or on the way out on power supply board. Always likely to show up when been off disconnected for a while.

  3. #3
    Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    I 've had Technomate receivers in the past, always end up with noisy fans. I had a 5402HD where you could turn fan off in menu, not sure if you have this particular option on this model.
    You may as well treat yourself to a linux receiver if you're going to invest in a top quality dish and motor.I wouldn't worry too much about "learning new technology", if you know how to open/ patch then linux will be a doddle!

  4. #4
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Funman18 View Post
    Sounds like some the electrolytic caps are gone or on the way out on power supply board. Always likely to show up when been off disconnected for a while.
    Hi - yes, I think the tops of the big ones are slightly domed which is a sympton, isn't it? Had this on a Panasonic HDD/DVD and replaced the board from one bought off eBay.

  5. #5
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by linsladeboy View Post
    I 've had Technomate receivers in the past, always end up with noisy fans. I had a 5402HD where you could turn fan off in menu, not sure if you have this particular option on this model.
    You may as well treat yourself to a linux receiver if you're going to invest in a top quality dish and motor.I wouldn't worry too much about "learning new technology", if you know how to open/ patch then linux will be a doddle!
    Hey - don't think it's the fan (which I'm up to replacing) but a buzzing, almost like a rapid oscillation close to the main transformer 'coils' - don't want to poke around too closely! If I could get a board and it's non-solder replaceable I'm up for that!

    You're right, just slight 'fear' of the new and unknown (and slower learning curve over the years!) - have no understanding of how Linux boxes work and how you open channels (though the number on which patching is still successful on the TM is far less than it used to be). I watch a lot of the European culture channels for my work - Mezzo, Arte, 3Sat etc

    Think I have a lot of reading up to do! I see lot of the new boxes call themselves multistream and/or seem to use broadband connection. Is that an add-on to the satellite feed, or an alternative source altogether? I know lots of people view IPTV boxes - not sure that's a long-term stable solution though, is it: sources changes a lot? Better stick with direct satellite feed?

  6. #6
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by goldnet View Post
    Hey - don't think it's the fan (which I'm up to replacing) but a buzzing, almost like a rapid oscillation close to the main transformer 'coils' - don't want to poke around too closely! If I could get a board and it's non-solder replaceable I'm up for that!

    You're right, just slight 'fear' of the new and unknown (and slower learning curve over the years!) - have no understanding of how Linux boxes work and how you open channels (though the number on which patching is still successful on the TM is far less than it used to be). I watch a lot of the European culture channels for my work - Mezzo, Arte, 3Sat etc

    Think I have a lot of reading up to do! I see lot of the new boxes call themselves multistream and/or seem to use broadband connection. Is that an add-on to the satellite feed, or an alternative source altogether? I know lots of people view IPTV boxes - not sure that's a long-term stable solution though, is it: sources changes a lot? Better stick with direct satellite feed?
    OK, well I bought a replacement cap and soldered it in tonight. No difference - box came on, stalled, switched on, box restarted. Buzzing. The after couple of seconds went off. I switched off and on, same again - turned itself off after couple of seconds.

    So either my soldering is defective (it was pretty straightfoward I thought, and the pins were well away from anything else) or that component was not at fault or other components are also defective.

    Unless there's some enthusiast here who could help (the PCB is easily removable to send for repair), it looks like a new Linux box is required.

    Thank goodness all 3 years' recordings on the HDD can be accessed directly from the disc!

  7. #7
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    210
    Thanked 164 Times in 147 Posts
    If it is capacitors, itís likely to be more than one.
    Can you post a picture of the power supply and the motherboard?
    I think I repaired a 7102 some time ago.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TK4|2|1 View Post
    If it is capacitors, it’s likely to be more than one.
    Can you post a picture of the power supply and the motherboard?
    I think I repaired a 7102 some time ago.
    Here you go... IMG_5270.jpg IMG_5271.jpg

  9. #9
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh, 1st pic looks fuzzy - will redo when I get home - you want to see the transformer bit, right?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.