Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Satellite PVR choice help

Title
    Thanks

Question Satellite PVR choice help

Hello,

I'm looking to purchase a PVR for my home and am looking for some advice on which to opt for. This will be a device we intend to have for a long period of time - I don't tend to refresh often - mostly only due to faults and failures.

I'm looking to spend no more than £220 (price of the Mutant HD51 with both S2X tuners + 500GB HDD).

As I've very little knowledge of these PVRs:

1. Are S2X tuners a wise purchase at this stage? Or would a combination of S2 & S2X tuners be acceptable?
    2. Are there any other creditable alternatives to the Mutant in its price bracket?
    3. What is the best image to get - OpenATV or OpenVix? (Is there any change in preferred image dependent on the box selected?
    4. Any recommended HDD's for the Mutant (or alternatives) that are cheaper than the supplier option?
    5. What is difference between FBC, S2 and S2X tuners?

I have presumed that as I intend to run this device for a long period of time, that it would not be wise to look at non 4K tuners - even though 4K content is quite limited at the minute and I have a 4K TV.

I should state that I have no real preference for the Mutant - other than it seems to be a highly regarded box.

Thanks.

Title
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,888 Times in 2,243 Posts
    My thoughts!
    1. if you live in UK and only want to pick up 28.2E, then apart from an improved sensitivity, I wouldn‘t purchase a s2x tuner. ( I have both on my HD51 ....and living in a poor recption area for 28.2E the s2x does give me a slight benefit)
    3. Images are like TV picture setup. - very much down to the viewer!