Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Update to latest vix and box just sits at booting...

    Good day all, I updated my sf4008 last night via the update menu and the box just sits at booting... I have no idea where to start, I did backup everything before the update but as the box will not boot do not know how to resolve this. Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks GWS

  2. #2
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Willo3092's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 140 Times in 100 Posts
    Flash with a clean image and then restore your backup.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Willo3092 For This Useful Post:

    gws (19-10-17)

  4. #3
    Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I had the very same problem,,,tried everything possible...ive sent it back too wos..and now its been sent onto octagon for repair

  5. #4
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Willo3092's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 140 Times in 100 Posts
    I've seen a few posts about online updates and ARM boxes.
    I always flash from USB and restore settings.

  6. #5
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    6,699
    Thanks
    2,088
    Thanked 1,926 Times in 1,579 Posts

    Update to latest vix and box just sits at booting...

    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    I've seen a few posts about online updates and ARM boxes.
    I always flash from USB and restore settings.
    Iíve never had such issues with my Vu+ ARM receivers. (Solo 4K & Ultimo 4K)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  7. #6
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Willo3092's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 140 Times in 100 Posts
    2 of them were SF4008's so possibly something to do with updated drivers? The other was a HD51 I think.
    Maybe it's just a coincidence.

  8. #7
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the info, I have tried with 4 usb sticks and nothing happens,it just sits there with the booting message. Time to contact WoS I think.

  9. #8
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,708
    Thanks
    22,702
    Thanked 25,334 Times in 7,321 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gws View Post
    Thanks for the info, I have tried with 4 usb sticks and nothing happens,it just sits there with the booting message. Time to contact WoS I think.
    Use a MAX8GB stick. Use a REAR USB port.
    Format USB stick FAT32 with HPtool here: http://www.world-of-satellite.com/sh...ve-Format-Tool
    Use a genuine kingston stick.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  10. #9
    Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sicilian View Post
    Use a MAX8GB stick. Use a REAR USB port.
    Format USB stick FAT32 with HPtool here: http://www.world-of-satellite.com/sh...ve-Format-Tool
    Use a genuine kingston stick.
    I did all that myself ..brought various flashdrives including a Kingston stick 8gb...also tried the fix and also the hp format tool...no matter what firmware I tried or which usb socket I tried,,nothing worked...sent mine back too wos on Tuesday..had a email today saying the unit is being sent back to octagon for repair

  11. #10
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,708
    Thanks
    22,702
    Thanked 25,334 Times in 7,321 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by softlad View Post
    I did all that myself ..brought various flashdrives including a Kingston stick 8gb...also tried the fix and also the hp format tool...no matter what firmware I tried or which usb socket I tried,,nothing worked...sent mine back too wos on Tuesday..had a email today saying the unit is being sent back to octagon for repair
    Your issue was totally different, yours kept getting stuck flashing rootfilesystem or something along those lines.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    gws (19-10-17)

  13. #11
    Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    yer it went too rootfile system...then hung on booting.....but was only trying too give the lad a heads up...I was on mine almost a week before I gave in and sent it back....hope gws does have the quicker option as ive now got to wait 2-4 weeks

  14. #12
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sicilian View Post
    Use a MAX8GB stick. Use a REAR USB port.
    Format USB stick FAT32 with HPtool here: http://www.world-of-satellite.com/sh...ve-Format-Tool
    Use a genuine kingston stick.
    I received support from WoS who said more or less what you have said. I found a real old usb stick (128Mb given away free with PC world magazine) formatted and did the re flash and it worked. I really dont understand why the boxes are so fussy about the usb, is it a linux thing? Thanks too all. GWS

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gws For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (19-10-17),Willo3092 (19-10-17)

  16. #13
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Had the same problem but used an alternative image until a new Openvix image came out. Flashed the latest Openvix image without a problem.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.