Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: EPG missing after reboot

  1. #1

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts

    EPG missing after reboot

    Hi there,

    I have CrossEPG setup from HDD. Everytime I reboot the box I have missing epg data on channels.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to m1nz For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,130
    Thanks
    5,950
    Thanked 8,699 Times in 5,870 Posts
    Are you also using EPG Importer?
    Does your log say anything about corrupt EPG?

  4. #3

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
    I am just downloading the sky and vm so don't know if that the issue. I have just updated to the lasts vix image and getting the issue.

    just to confirm what the best why to test this up. I am using the crossepg for sky and XMLTVImporter for vm
    Last edited by m1nz; 30-05-17 at 21:07.

  5. #4
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,130
    Thanks
    5,950
    Thanked 8,699 Times in 5,870 Posts
    For some reason using both openTV EPG and EPG importer has issues.

    You can use
    • EPG importer for everything
    • Don't use EPG importer at all. Use Cross for OpenTV ONLY, zap to Preview channel regularly (or automate with EPG refresh plugin)

  6. #5

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
    How do you setup EPG importer. Also does it save to file

  7. #6

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eire
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 29 Times in 24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    For some reason using both openTV EPG and EPG importer has issues.

    You can use
    • EPG importer for everything
    • Don't use EPG importer at all. Use Cross for OpenTV ONLY, zap to Preview channel regularly (or automate with EPG refresh plugin)
    Abu

    Apologies for posting in an old thread, but just want to ask is this an actual problem? CrossEPG data not consistent with EPGImport data?
    Am running Cross for 28.2 OpenTV and EPG Importer for French channels (TNTSAT) on a daily basis.
    All working okay, but just noticed recently that if I restart the GUI the debug log fills up with corrupt epgcache messages when it tries to write the epg data to the epg.dat file, and when E2 restarts the epg data is gone (no epg.dat file to read from).
    Not sure when this started happening.
    Running VIX 5.0.025 on an XTrend ET8000
    CT ET9000, Xtrend ET4000
    T90 Wavefrontier 5W-1W-5E-13E-19E-28E, Old Lidl dish 28E


  8. #7
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,130
    Thanks
    5,950
    Thanked 8,699 Times in 5,870 Posts
    There seems to be a false positive somewhere which flags the epg as being corrupt.

    PLI use a different version of CrossEPG, nobody maintains it. They hate it. So it is unlikely that we will be to work together to resolve the issue. Just use EPG importer on its own.

  9. #8

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eire
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 29 Times in 24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    There seems to be a false positive somewhere which flags the epg as being corrupt.

    PLI use a different version of CrossEPG, nobody maintains it. They hate it. So it is unlikely that we will be to work together to resolve the issue. Just use EPG importer on its own.
    Abu

    Thanks for quick response. A bit disappointing to give up OpenTV, but will give your suggestion a go.
    Don't normally restart GUI or reboot box, so never noticed problem before, and of course both sets of epg data seem to work okay in memory.
    CT ET9000, Xtrend ET4000
    T90 Wavefrontier 5W-1W-5E-13E-19E-28E, Old Lidl dish 28E


  10. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,214
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 96 Times in 89 Posts
    EPG importer doesnt gather all the EPG the way CROSS epg uses. Thats why i prefer cross EPG. But lately, this has been getting corrupted. Dunno why

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.