Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: flashing image

  1. #1

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    flashing image

    hi, at the moment I'am still using the original open mips image but my box has gone cranky since I put some plug ins on ie password changes randomly & can,t change it no access via dcc or dreambox edit also tuner B has stopped working I have done a factory reset but its not altered anything, I have tried to flash a new image as has been described in a previous post but open mips keeps starting I have formatted the usb stick put (open atv also tried open ld) on to it put it in the rear of the box but no success. any help please

  2. #2
    Blade0rz
    A lot of the tutorials miss out one vital step:
    1. Format USB to FAT32
    2. Extract contents of image to USB drive so the top-level directory is gigablue
    3. Insert USB into box (preferably the back USB port)
    4. Boot the box (either full restart or shutdown/boot)
    5. Important: Once the VFD displays the word "Conf" press the OK button on the front panel
    6. The VFD will display "Read" and the LED will start flashing purple. This is the image starting to install. Do not switch the box off, leave it to run. It may take about 10 minutes or so.
    7. Once successfully installed, the box will reboot into the new image

    Step 5 was missing from all of the (admittedly HD800SE, not the Plus model) tutorials I had read online. Make sure the image you have selected is the correct one for your box, otherwise it could leave it in an unusable state.

    For me, the latest OpenATV image has no issues whatsoever.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Blade0rz For This Useful Post:

    Salfordian (16-07-14)

  4. #3

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    hi bladeorz, am I missing a trick or something I've followed your instructions to the letter but it keeps going straight to boot tried with different images but no difference, any ideas please

  5. #4

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    hi ignore my last post I have put a new bootloader on now able to flash all good now its play time again (learning process) thanks

  6. #5

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dorada View Post
    hi, at the moment I'am still using the original open mips image but my box has gone cranky since I put some plug ins on ie password changes randomly & can,t change it no access via dcc or dreambox edit also tuner B has stopped working I have done a factory reset but its not altered anything, I have tried to flash a new image as has been described in a previous post but open mips keeps starting I have formatted the usb stick put (open atv also tried open ld) on to it put it in the rear of the box but no success. any help please
    I have the same issue in that I cannot reflash..followed the instructions to the letter but box just boots normally (Boot => giga => numbers up to 100) no sign of CONF option. thankfully I got my tuner issue sorted by setting diseq to yes but dunno what I'm gonna do if I ever have to reflash. ?...

  7. #6

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Hi can anyone point me in the right direction for the bootloader that I need for this box as I want to try different images and each time I try it reads the usb stick as usual then just goes straight to booting the mips image..
    Noticed dorada had this happen and sorted it with different bootloader..Thanks in advance for any help, can't seem to find it on here.

  8. #7

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    there you go buddy h**p://repository.italysat.it/ thats where I got mine from
    Last edited by dorada; 09-03-14 at 19:16. Reason: live link

  9. #8

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    chesterfield
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    hi deano , forgot to add put the correct bootloader on a usb stick and put it in your box as you would to flash it, takes about 2 to 4 seconds to load

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to dorada For This Useful Post:

    mike1961 (11-03-14)

  11. #9

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi can anyone point me in the right direction for the bootloader that I need for this box as I want to try different images and each time I try it reads the usb stick as usual then just goes straight to booting the mips image..
    Noticed dorada had this happen and sorted it with different bootloader..Thanks in advance for any help, can't seem to find it on here.
    you either do that or just rename the folder inside gigablue from seplus to ueplus and it will recognize the update ;-)

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to klaxhu For This Useful Post:

    Salfordian (16-07-14)

  13. #10

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had the same problem previously. In the end I think I resolved the issue by trying a different USB stick.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.