Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: Common used Unix/Linux telnet commands

  1. #16

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 28 Times in 19 Posts
    Don't think that command works in VIX..

    Using DE BH i used uuid to mount. There was also this "by-uuid" directory somewhere (in /dev? can't remember exactly..)

    /Yngve

  2. #17

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
    now i can play with my box bit more than just wach tv.....

  3. #18
    pooface's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    1,904
    Thanked 4,791 Times in 1,951 Posts
    Just added the following to the sticky:


    Use fdisk to create partition
    (WARNING: Ensure you have taken backups of any data you want to keep from all devices, I do not assume responsibility for any data lost!!!):


    You will first need to unmount the device you want to re-partition. To do this, use the command umount device, for example umount /dev/sda

    Then, you can start to partition the device:
    fdisk device. For example, fdisk /dev/sda

    To get help in fdisk, enter the letter m, followed by enter press. The most common commands used are:

    p - print the partition table
    n - create a new partition
    d - delete a partition
    q - quit without saving changes
    w - write the new partition table and exit
    t - change a partition's system id

    Changes you make to the partition table do not take effect until you issue the write w command.

    First off, list all the partitions on the disk by press the p. This should give you the partitions on your disk, an example would be:

    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 32.0 GB, 32006733824 bytes
    17 heads, 17 sectors/track, 216308 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 289 * 512 = 147968 bytes
     
       Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1             1    213474  30846984+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda2        213475    216308    409513   82  Linux swap
    Delete all current partitions, by pressing d. This may ask you for the partition number (may not if you only have 1 partition. In the example above, I would choose 1 for sda1, and 2 for sda2. Delete all partitions.

    Now, we can just press n to create the new partition(s). This will ask if you want an extended or primary. Choose primary by entering p. Now, enter 1 as the partition number. If you are just going to do the 1 partition, just press enter when it asks you for the first cylinder and last cylinder.

    However, if you want a swap partition, or 2 partitions, then you will need to calculate the cylinder values you need for the sizes you want to set. In my example of the partitions above, I want a 400mb swap file. From the number of bytes, I can do 32006733824 (number of bytes) divided by 1024 which gives 31256576kb. I now need to divide it by 1024 again, to give me MB, which equals 30524MB. So, to have 1 partition as the main drive (of the majority of disk) and another as swap with 400MB, I will do 30524 minus 400, which gives me 30124. Now, to work out how many cylinders to use for the first partition (~30124MB), we need to work out the ratio. So, 30124/30524 gives us a ratio of 0.9869. So, for partition 1, we want 216308 * 0.9869 cylinders (which is 213474 (rounded). So, when I am asked for the first cylinder, I would enter 1 (as we want it to start at the beginning), and then when I'm asked for the last cylinder, I would enter 213474. Then, I would follow through, and choose the process again (n to create a new partition), choose primary (p), then enter 2 as your partition number. Now, when it asks the first cylinder, you can just press enter for the default value given (first free cylinder, which is 213475). You can also just press enter to accept the default value for the last cylinder. If you now choose p, this should give you the table, as shown above, except the sytem is Linux on both, instead of Linux Swap for the swap partition...

    So now, we need to press t to change the system ID so the system recognizes it as a swap partition. You will be asked which partition to change the system id. In this case, it would be 2. You should now enter 82, as this is the code for a linux swap. You will now receive a message to say you've changed the partition type. Now, pressing p to print the partition table, will give you the same as the code above... Now, we just need to write it by press w.

    You can now proceed to format the partitions for use in linux

    Format a partition
    (WARNING: Ensure you have taken backups of any data you want to keep from all devices, I do not assume responsibility for any data lost!!!):


    Again, to format a partition, you must ensure your partition is not mounted. Issue the command umount device, for example umount /dev/sda1

    Now, you can format the partition using the command:

    Code:
    mkfs.ext3 device (e.g. mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1)
    By default, five percent of the partition is reserved for use by the root user. This allows root to conduct administrative activities on the partition and perhaps move some data off. However, this is most critical when the partition contains / or home directories. For pure data partitions, this is just lost space. So, if you have a 1tb hdd, then 5% of this is ~50gb. A lot of wasted space. So, we can get the system to only use 1%, which is more negligable. To do this, we issue the command:

    Code:
    mkfs.ext3 -m 1 device (e.g. mkfs.ext3 -m 1 /dev/sda1
    Rules can be found HERE
    Support our sponsor, World-Of-Satellite HERE
    Follow us on Twitter HERE
    -----
    Vu+ Ultimo (ViX Beta), Vu+ Solo (ViX Beta), CT ET9000 (ViX Beta)
    Dark Motor Superior with Inverto Ultra Black Twin LNB
    85cm Gibertini Aluminium Dish

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to pooface For This Useful Post:

    Alanp (06-07-11)

  5. #19

    Title
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    872
    Thanks
    413
    Thanked 192 Times in 124 Posts
    Errrrrr
    what's the telnet commands for starting and stopping CCcam please.

    regards: canthackit

  6. #20

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    189
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 66 Times in 46 Posts
    I have the image mounted from hdd ViX 2.3 build 204.

    but if I try to list the disk I get this error:

    Code:
    vuuno root @: ~ # fdisk -l
    -sh: fdisk: not found
    vuuno root @: ~ #
    anyone know which command I have to use?

  7. #21

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    189
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 66 Times in 46 Posts
    good looking I found this,

    Code:
    blkid
    but not if there will be any more complete command now it throws me the box.

    Code:
    vuuno root @: ~ # blkid
    / dev/sdb1: UUID = "A0AF-F47C"
    / dev/sda1: UUID = "-281b-41de 4e8a4edf-9821-b34c392160fa"

  8. #22

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    can some one please write me a command how to restart enigima 2 from putty?which command?

  9. #23
    Larry-G's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32,542
    Thanks
    7,824
    Thanked 22,934 Times in 12,378 Posts
    to re-start enigma 2 from a telnet session use

    init 6

    or

    shutdown -r now
    My posts contain my own personal thoughts and opinions, they do not represent those of any organisation or group but my own.

    If you don't like what I post, Don't read it.

    SIMPLES.

  10. #24

    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    5,122
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 1,434 Times in 1,137 Posts
    hi,
    restarting only enigma is done with
    init 4
    init 3

    ciao

    gesendet von meiner Tablette
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  11. #25
    CRMS's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
    I've got Telnet Client window on my laptop and connected to gigablue box via WLAN, so I have an ip address that works with OpenWebIf.

    How do I actually connect the telnet to the box??

  12. #26
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    23,338
    Thanks
    6,422
    Thanked 9,146 Times in 6,224 Posts
    Type following in command prompt:
    telnet "ip address of box"

    eg.
    telnet 192.168.1.25

  13. #27
    CRMS's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
    Thanks. It worked.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Flavour of Linux on the VU+ Duo
    By Chunkey in forum VU+ Duo Talk
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-04-10, 11:39
  2. Talk to me about Telnet
    By Twigman in forum General Satellite Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-10, 16:33
  3. Telnet & FTP Clients
    By grtmoby in forum Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-03-10, 00:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.