Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 157

Thread: How to flash a VU+ Duo using a USB stick

  1. #16

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 27 Times in 17 Posts
    Aha OKi well thats explains it all the file is a folder that has to be extracted after that you be able to se all 3 files, tack för hjälpen

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to pege63 For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (30-05-10)

  3. #17

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
    Inga problem, alltid roligt att kunna hjälpa till

    Sorry, had to reply in swedish

  4. #18
    Sicilian's Avatar
    Title
    The Boss
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29,260
    Thanks
    23,090
    Thanked 25,677 Times in 7,499 Posts
    I'll re-pack the file and re-upload so it extracts into its correct folders.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, AX HD61 COMBO, ZGEMMA H9 TWIN, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  5. #19
    pooface's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9,733
    Thanks
    1,904
    Thanked 4,787 Times in 1,951 Posts
    Followed this perfectly when I did my first flash. However, I made a few changes that the box wouldn't keep, so I wanted to reflash it...

    Put the stick in to the front usb port, and it came up very briefly with "Reading USB" or whatever message, and then started to load the previous image...

    Had to remove the usb stick in the back of the machine for it to actually flash using the front usb... Now, I'm likely to flash it using the front usb for ease of use, but don't really wanna have to keep removing the rear usb stick to do this... Is there any way to make it read the front usb first (as it looks to me like it's reading the rear usb, thinking no file to flash, and then starting up...)

  6. #20
    Sicilian's Avatar
    Title
    The Boss
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29,260
    Thanks
    23,090
    Thanked 25,677 Times in 7,499 Posts
    No, you have to remove the rear stick when re-flashing.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, AX HD61 COMBO, ZGEMMA H9 TWIN, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  7. #21

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Sorry if this the wrong thread to ask this, but how do I keep all my current settings and try out a new image?
    Since receiving the box a week ago the only thing I have done is flash it with the latest Pli image.
    This morning I thought I would try the latest official image Ver4.8 which I got from your link and flashed, but of course it just effectively starts from the beginning asking for language, tuner settings etc.
    Fortunately I had followed your guide to taking a backup so was able to flash back and everything was as before.
    Having spent ages setting up different satellites for the positioner is there a way to save some settings files first, flash with the official image, then apply the saved settings on top?
    Thanks

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to wobbler For This Useful Post:


  9. #22

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi,

    I downloaded the VIX image but there is two files in the section:
    (1) VIX_V1.0_Team_Image.nfi
    (2) VIX_V1.0_Team_Image.zip

    What is the purpose of the .nfi things?

    Am I right in thinking that I need to extract the .zip folder on the USB Stick duo??

    Thanks

  10. #23
    pooface's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9,733
    Thanks
    1,904
    Thanked 4,787 Times in 1,951 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by digicell View Post
    Hi,

    I downloaded the VIX image but there is two files in the section:
    (1) VIX_V1.0_Team_Image.nfi
    (2) VIX_V1.0_Team_Image.zip

    What is the purpose of the .nfi things?

    Am I right in thinking that I need to extract the .zip folder on the USB Stick duo??

    Thanks
    The nfi is used if you are doing a multi-boot by using something like barry allen.

    Just extract the .zip file, and use that
    Rules can be found HERE
    Support our sponsor, World-Of-Satellite HERE
    Follow us on Twitter HERE
    -----
    Vu+ Ultimo (ViX Beta), Vu+ Solo (ViX Beta), CT ET9000 (ViX Beta)
    Dark Motor Superior with Inverto Ultra Black Twin LNB
    85cm Gibertini Aluminium Dish

  11. #24
    TreoComp
    Quote Originally Posted by wobbler View Post
    Sorry if this the wrong thread to ask this, but how do I keep all my current settings and try out a new image?
    Since receiving the box a week ago the only thing I have done is flash it with the latest Pli image.
    This morning I thought I would try the latest official image Ver4.8 which I got from your link and flashed, but of course it just effectively starts from the beginning asking for language, tuner settings etc.
    Fortunately I had followed your guide to taking a backup so was able to flash back and everything was as before.
    Having spent ages setting up different satellites for the positioner is there a way to save some settings files first, flash with the official image, then apply the saved settings on top?
    Thanks
    For the channelsettings you can use dreamboxedit
    Code:
    http://dreambox.happyllama.com/
    With it you can transfer files between your Vu+ and your PC back and forth as many times u wish.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by pooface; 21-09-10 at 14:26.

  12. #25

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    hi shawi plz help me with vu+duo.i try to do flash with nfi image but no luck.so plz can u tell me total method.very thankfull.or my yahoo id han_par
    i m avilable on yahoo 24/7 so plz help me for this.

  13. #26
    Past2Present
    You have to put the vuplus map on your usb stick, not the nfi image for flashing!!

  14. #27

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    no i m using nul modem with nfi image.

  15. #28
    Past2Present
    You can do that with VuUtil, power of the box on the rear, choose the right comport, fill in the ip of your pc, fill in the ip of the vu or choose dhcp, then press connect if the connection is ok, you see the message Serial port open success. Please turn on your box.
    Then switch it on at back and got to the place where the nfi file is located and flash.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Past2Present; 21-09-10 at 15:03.

  16. #29

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    i m doing exactly what u said but it says continu and after exit vuutil program nothing happend bro.

  17. #30
    Past2Present
    After flashing you get the message Complete flashing all, now first click on disconnect en then press exit, turn the box off and on.

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to flash your VU+Duo with RS232 and LAN
    By Sicilian in forum VU+ Duo Talk
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 18-05-15, 07:07
  2. Dream Elite DM7025 Pure Flash 1.0
    By Sicilian in forum Dreambox DM7025 Images
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-10, 15:59

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.