Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Development environment

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Development environment

    Hi!

    I have VU+ Ultimo and I'm interested to create OpenVIX development environment to my laptop, that I could check how it is made/works and hopefully some day contribute some code/bug fixes. But I'm not sure where to start. Is there some tutorial or helps how to do that, or maybe ready virtual machine image?

    This is initial plan, please correct me if it looks stupid or something.. Here are some questions about the process. As a same time when I create my environment I could document that process to tutorial etc. for new developers..

    1. I think I'll install VirtualBox and and Linux into it
    * How much memory is needed to the virtual machine?
    * Which Linux distro is best? Or Does it matter what it is?

    2. Install and setup software needed to build the OpenVIX
    * What do I need? Python?
    * What is easiest way to install them? apt-get? (depends on distro)
    * Do I need to configure those that they create proper build?

    3. Get the source
    * Are the source found from https://www.assembla.com/spaces/openvix ?
    * Is the source same for all VU+ machines?

    4. Do the build
    * How it happens?

    5. Get some IDE
    * What IDE you recommend? Is NetBeans ok?

    It would be great if you could answer to these questions and help me to build the environment. Some background information about me; I know linux basis; I'm software developer, but I haven't coded using python.

    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 44 Times in 19 Posts
    I use this to setup my linux environment
    Code:
    http://users.telenet.be/spstefansp/openpliubuntu.html
    But I use this to setup for openvix

    http://www.world-of-satellite.com/en...=Build-Script/


    If you need any pointers just ask, I havn't built for a vu box as I have a tmtwin but they are all pretty much the same and others will always help.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scruff1963 For This Useful Post:

    Messi (09-02-14),Peanut006 (12-01-13)

  4. #3

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks! I'll try those helps, it takes some time but I'll update my progress to this thread..

  5. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Does anyone know apt repository where from I could install bitbake using apt-get to Linux mint 14?

  6. #5

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 44 Times in 19 Posts
    Bitbake is pulled automatically by the script I posted a link to above, not sure but I don't think you can just pull any version down.

    Don't know about mint what distro is it based on ?

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to scruff1963 For This Useful Post:

    Peanut006 (15-01-13)

  8. #6

    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    5,122
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 1,434 Times in 1,137 Posts
    Hi,
    mint is based on ubuntu. If you want to install bitbake you have to download the source and compile/install is manually.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Trial For This Useful Post:

    Peanut006 (15-01-13)

  10. #7

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by scruff1963 View Post
    Bitbake is pulled automatically by the script I posted a link to above, not sure but I don't think you can just pull any version down.

    Don't know about mint what distro is it based on ?
    Yeah, the script seems to download the bitbake. Tried to use APT to get it because it was in the OpenPLI help that way.. And the Mint is Ubuntu based right as Trial said. I selected Mint because it is Ubuntu based and it has pre installed audio/video codecs..

  11. #8

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    But now to a next feature: The build script does ask distro (OpenVIX) and machine (Vu Ultimo) what to build and after that it download lots of stuff. But after that it asks the machine again and over again when I select (only) the Vu Ultimo. Only way to get out was to break script.. Am I doing something wrong?

    I think I create own custom script which have hardcoded distro and machine values..

    Here is the installation diary so far: https://www.dropbox.com/s/3y4ohkuykd...tion_diary.txt
    Last edited by Peanut006; 15-01-13 at 18:19.

  12. #9

    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    5,122
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 1,434 Times in 1,137 Posts
    Hi,
    your build environment is not complete. Change the script in this way that it does not display the dialog boxes and does not do it in a loop then you will see what is missing.

    When you have access from the internet to your computer we can make an appointment for tomorrow so that I can take a look.

    ciao
    Last edited by Trial; 15-01-13 at 19:45.
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Trial For This Useful Post:

    Peanut006 (16-01-13)

  14. #10

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 44 Times in 19 Posts
    If your not happy with the script then from a terminal window.

    Code:
    mkdir openvix
    cd openvix
    git clone git://github.com/oe-alliance/build-enviroment.git oe-alliance
    cd oe-alliance
    Machine=vuultimo DISTRO=openvix make update
    This will pull down bitbake and other things that you need.
    then to make an image
    Code:
    cd openvix
    cd oe-alliance
    Machine=vuultimo DISTRO=openvix make image
    A regular
    Code:
    Machine=vuultimo DISTRO=openvix make update
    Will keep you upto date with vix changes to the code.

    As your doing the vuultimmo which is the default you can get away with
    Code:
    make -f Makefile image
    as Machine=vuultimo and DISTRO=openvix are the defaults in the Makefile


    .

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scruff1963 For This Useful Post:

    c9550927 (16-09-15),Peanut006 (16-01-13)

  16. #11

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Trial View Post
    Hi,
    your build environment is not complete. Change the script in this way that it does not display the dialog boxes and does not do it in a loop then you will see what is missing.

    When you have access from the internet to your computer we can make an appointment for tomorrow so that I can take a look.

    ciao
    Thanks for appointment offer, but I think I can get someting done with scruff1963's previous post

  17. #12

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Excellent info scruff1963! This will help a lot

  18. #13

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Little about the http://www.world-of-satellite.com/en...alliance-build script..

    1. The script is missing buildimage and updatebuildnumber functions
    2. There are two infinite while loops? When should the script leave from those?
    3. What is purpose of this script? Is it ment to run once to setup the environment or every time when you build the system?

    I think I can continue without the script but it would be great if it would be fixed. Because it is quite confusing for those who run the script first time and are newbie like me

  19. #14

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 44 Times in 19 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peanut006 View Post
    Little about the http://www.world-of-satellite.com/en...alliance-build script..

    1. The script is missing buildimage and updatebuildnumber functions
    2. There are two infinite while loops? When should the script leave from those?
    3. What is purpose of this script? Is it ment to run once to setup the environment or every time when you build the system?

    I think I can continue without the script but it would be great if it would be fixed. Because it is quite confusing for those who run the script first time and are newbie like me
    With the instructions I posted you don't need to run the script at all.
    I have never run the script, I just assumed that it would make things easier as it is hosted here.
    You need to make sure that you follow the initial instructions on
    Code:
    http://users.telenet.be/spstefansp/openpliubuntu.html
    at least down to the
    Code:
    In terminal type ~$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure dash
    
    answer no
    
    This concludes the basic preparation for ubuntu 12.04 , for those who are running ubuntu as primary ops system, all is same except that you do not need the virtual machine.
    You will not need to do these again as they are only to setup the build environment.

  20. #15
    Larry-G's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32,542
    Thanks
    7,824
    Thanked 22,934 Times in 12,378 Posts
    The script just allows you to build the image via a easy to use GUI rather than using a command line, you can build any of the images we support via the script and some more that we currently have not released.
    My posts contain my own personal thoughts and opinions, they do not represent those of any organisation or group but my own.

    If you don't like what I post, Don't read it.

    SIMPLES.

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Larry-G For This Useful Post:

    scruff1963 (16-01-13)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.