PDA

View Full Version : Few simple questions about solo

Allanf
12-06-11, 19:08
Hi all,
Ive just got a vu+ solo but im a complete newbie and i need help with a few things. Ive flashed the box with blackhole 1.6 and installed ccam which is all working fine. But im stuck now with these questions:
1) How do i mount a share on my NAS use as my hdd to use PVR functions.
2) The EPG is terrible! it only shows a now and next (and doesnt even show this unless you have already watched that channel! Could someone explain how to use a better EPG with a 7 day listing?
3) What is swap space and do i need it?
Cheers guys and sorry for all the questions!

punisher
12-06-11, 19:15
1) go into menu/setup/system/network/network browser. find your NAS and mount is and select use as HDD replacement
2) what image are you using as I am on vix 2.2 for my solo and the epg is fantastic using CrossEPG and OpenTV as the provider.
3) Swap space is extra memory. If you use a lot of plugins or have a lof of epg providers then you might want to enable Swap File. if not then you dont need it

Allanf
12-06-11, 19:23
Cheers for the quick reply.

Just mounted the HDD, thats great. Im on blackhole 1.6. I wanted to use VIX but when i installed the latest version it just repeated crashed and i got a green screen all the time. Black hole has been 100% stable so far. I can see a cross epg downloader on blackhole but it wont let me select it. It says must be configured before downloading. Any ideas? Just the EPG to get sorted out now and im finally all set!

Edit: Ive got a spare usb pen 512mb, so should i put this in the back and leave it there as swap space? Can this be done?

punisher
12-06-11, 19:42
im not sure about blackhole as i havent used it in ages and i use vix. but i guess you will have to configure crossepg first through the settings and then try downloading it. and yeh you can create a usb swap file but will need to make sure the usb is also mounted correctly

Allanf
12-06-11, 19:59