PDA

View Full Version : multi sat on one dish

lost_one
23-05-11, 17:36
Hello,

I'm a complete newbie to DIY sat, I have a couple of questions.

I currently have a bog standard Sky+ system and now I want to be able to receive/watch programs on Eurobird 9A (I'm American living in Germany and want to watch U.S. sports). Is this possible using the existing dish with another LNB/DiSec/switch? I know I will need a new receiver, (thinking about the Vu+ Duo)

With the above hypothetical setup, would I be able to record Sky @28E while watching Eurobird @9E? I think I would need two dishes for this???? Am i wrong??

Do you recommend a motorised dish for what I want to do?

TIA

Stanman
23-05-11, 20:14
Hi mate and welcome, its not advised to start multiple threads on the same subject.
As for recording it will handle two sats no problem, but you might need a big dish as they are quite apart 28.2E and 9E or as you have mentioned motorised.

basilyoung
23-05-11, 21:04
you would need two dish,s for the cost, you might as well go motorized, if you get the duo, this would really be a must, in this situation, you will then be able to watch and record on 28 east, and or watch 9 east whilst recording on 28 east

pooface
24-05-11, 10:43
To record 9e whilst watching 28e, you would need either two lnbs (would require a dish large enough to get the offset), or 2 dishes...

banie01
24-05-11, 11:39
You will need at least an 80cm dish preferably even bigger ;) to maximise your signal on offset sats, the spread between 28.2e and 9e is easily achieved with a 90cm Dish and 2LNBS.
A better set up would be 2 dual LNBs into 2 1x2 diseqc switches to allow multisat PVR capability.
Although with going the multisat route on a 90cm dish you can add a lot more fairly easily, I have 9e, 13e, 16e, 19.2e, 23.5e and sky on 28.2 all on 1 90cm dish with feeds into a Vu Duo via 2 1x4 diseqc switches.