PDA

View Full Version : Smartreader help

zephyr4
27-05-10, 05:27
Can any help me with installing a smartreader on the Vu+, I am new to this type of box and most of the information I have read just goes over my headat the moment.
I have installed the 1.3 firmware via windows on the smartreader and set it to
Autoswitch
Dreambox
T=0
EGT 0
I have also downloaded serial to usb by plugin to my vu+(was this correct) now I am completely stuck what to do next.

Sicilian
27-05-10, 05:51
What image are you using? What card are you using in the smartreader? The the internal card reader is safe to use, you may not need to use a smargo.

zephyr4
27-05-10, 08:38
The image I am using is one of the pli backup images you have put on the forum and while I am here just like to say thanks, the card I am trying to use is the white card which I have been told runs at 3 volts.

Sicilian
27-05-10, 09:07
It will be fine in the card slot ;)

You'll notice it will run cooler in that than you official receiver.

zephyr4
27-05-10, 09:16
Ok m8 but if its not to much trouble I would still like to know how to use the smartreader as it all helps the learning how to use the vu+.

Sicilian
27-05-10, 09:28
I had a quick play this morning but am at work now.

You've set the smartreader correctly in windows and you've installed the usb2serial drivers which is all correct.

Now I'll be honest i'm not sure if the correct config with the VU+ is either: -

BOXKEY: /dev/tts/usb/0 xx xx xx xx
BOXKEY: /dev/tts/usb/1 xx xx xx xx
SERIAL READER : /dev/tts/usb/0 smartreader+
SERIAL READER : /dev/tts/usb/1 smartreader+
SMARTCARD CLOCK FREQUENCY /dev/tts/usb/0 3570000
SMARTCARD CLOCK FREQUENCY /dev/tts/usb/1 3570000

or this: -

BOXKEY: /dev/ttyUSB0 xx xx xx xx
BOXKEY: /dev/ttyUSB1 xx xx xx xx
SERIAL READER : /dev/ttyUSB0 smartreader+
SERIAL READER : /dev/ttyUSB1 smartreader+
SMARTCARD CLOCK FREQUENCY /dev/ttyUSB0 3570000
SMARTCARD CLOCK FREQUENCY /dev/ttyUSB1 3570000