PDA

View Full Version : Telnet command to boot to a different partition



Willo3092
23-10-22, 19:23
As above, is it possible to do this via telnet/putty?

I do a fair bit of faffing about that sometimes stops the box booting but I can still access it via putty.

I've worked out how to flash a saved image from telnet but booting to a different partition would be much quicker.

twol
23-10-22, 19:34
So quick answer (not knowing which box) it is
1. know which image is the slots.
2. telnet to box and in /boot are the STARTUP files.
3. decide which slot you want to boot…. Say slot 2
Rename STARTUP to OLD-startup
rename STARTUP_2 to STARTUP
Reboot


some of the startup names are different depending on the box, but the the logic is the same.

BrianG61UK
23-10-22, 19:46
Wouldn't


cp STARTUP_2 STARTUP

be better (because it doesn't leave you with no STARTUP_2 file)?

Willo3092
23-10-22, 20:11
I didn't even think of doing the obvious! Just thought there might be a telnet command doh!
That works perfectly guys, thank you :thumbsup:

twol
24-10-22, 07:03
Wouldn't


cp STARTUP_2 STARTUP

be better (because it doesn't leave you with no STARTUP_2 file)?

Yes, correct……I normally copy them to PC and then do a copy back with rename

urie
26-10-22, 10:53
I just keep txt file named boot from other partition and just copy text to terminal for which partition I want to boot from this is for gigablue quad uhd 4k


cd /boot
cp STARTUP_1 STARTUP
reboot

cd /boot
cp STARTUP_2 STARTUP
reboot

cd /boot
cp STARTUP_3 STARTUP
reboot

baburao6560
13-04-23, 05:46
tep 0 Open the Windows Start screen and type "cmd." Right-click on the "Command-Line Prompt" shortcut and select "Run as administrator."

Step 1 Type "diskpart" and press the "Return" key. Diskpart will now launch. While Diskpart is active, the traditional command-line prompt will be replaced by a Diskpart prompt, indicating that any command you enter will be processed by that application.

birdman
13-04-23, 11:33
I didn't even think of doing the obvious! Just thought there might be a telnet command doh!
That works perfectly guys, thank you :thumbsup:You could always write a script to do it. Avoids typos....

Willo3092
13-04-23, 13:38
I have done now thanks :)


#!/bin/bash
init 4
cd /boot
cp STARTUP_LINUX_4 STARTUP
reboot
exit 0

Joe_90
20-04-23, 19:15
Spam post removed to the dumping ground.

urie
21-04-23, 19:19
You could always write a script to do it. Avoids typos....

What typos if copying from list

cd /boot
cp STARTUP_1 STARTUP
reboot

cd /boot
cp STARTUP_2 STARTUP
reboot

cd /boot
cp STARTUP_3 STARTUP
reboot

But well done to @Willo3092 for making script example for boot partition 4 but where do you run it from within putty is it copy and paste or is it stored in user \script folder on partition you cannot boot into.

Willo3092
21-04-23, 20:16
where do you run it from within putty is it copy and paste or is it stored in user \script folder on partition you cannot boot into.

Usually when I need to boot to a different partition it's because I've made a complete pigs ear and the box won't boot so I use putty.
I use a free windows clipboard manager called CopyQ to store hundreds of different scripts and commands which can be pasted into putty with one click.

65290

urie
22-04-23, 20:06
Usually when I need to boot to a different partition it's because I've made a complete pigs ear and the box won't boot so I use putty.
I use a free windows clipboard manager called CopyQ to store hundreds of different scripts and commands which can be pasted into putty with one click.

65290

Yes exactly same situation trying things out box does not respond so have to boot to other partition but thanks will certanly check out CopyQ :)

I will get there eventually always wondered why .bash_history file was there in home/root but that can also save time.