PDA

View Full Version : Satellite Receiver box advice - First Timer

rohantn
21-06-21, 10:17
Complete newbie here, both to TVs and Satellite TV reception.
I'm getting a TV for the first time, after several years without a TV.

Our house has 2 Sky TV dishes, one at the side of the house with 2 LNB cables and another on the roof, with 1 cable running from it.
Both dishes seem to be pointed in the same direction. These cam with the house, when we bought it, 5 years ago.

Requirements:-
1) I would like to receive all Free To Air channels on Astra 28.2°
2) I would like to be able to receive IPTV channels that do not require a subscription
3) I would like to watch OTT sources like BBC Iplayer, Netflix, Youtube etc.
4) Have a device that has wi-fi capabilities
5) Have a device that can handle 4 K
6) Not have non FTA channels on EPG

Options considered:-
1) Buy a used Sky + HD box

Pros:-
Will work out of the box

Cons:-
Will display all paid channels in EPG as well. Painful to navigate and understand what is not FTA
Will not handle IPTV channels

2) Buy a Freesat box

Will work out of the box

Will not display channels not of Freesat EPG. Need to manually search and add.
Will not handle IPTV channels

3) Buy a Linux Enigma2 / Android receiver with OpenVix
Should be able to meet all requirements
Set up and programming could be complicated

I am veering towards the option of getting an Enigma 2 receiver.
With this option, please can you help me choose the right receiver?
Would Zgemma H9S SE be a good choice?
I don't think I would be interested in recording programs.

Questions:-
1) I have seen some posts about how to replicate Sky EPG in a Linux receiver.
But if I follow those steps, will even the paid non FTA channels appear in the EPG?

2) Is there a way to build an EPG, that will scan and include all the FTA channels on Astra 28.2°, even those potentially not on sky EPG?

3) Will the IPTV channels need to be on a separate EPG? How do I build one for IPTV channels?