PDA

View Full Version : Researching the Z8 Pro

DigitalAardvark
14-11-20, 08:40
My first look at media streaming. I'm wondering why this box has not been upgraded to the newer Android 9. I'm not technically in the know, I just am not wanting to purchase something that is not running the latest technology.

Sicilian
14-11-20, 12:02
My first look at media streaming. I'm wondering why this box has not been upgraded to the newer Android 9. I'm not technically in the know, I just am not wanting to purchase something that is not running the latest technology.

Why would Android 9.0 make it any better? IPTV devices that I've tested with Android 9 are buggy and slow zapping. Android 7.0 on the Z8 is fast and stable which is most important.

DigitalAardvark
14-11-20, 12:48
Thanks for that, totally understand about the stability and choice of proven apps. My reason for asking was that I understand that Google has stopped supporting V7 and for over half a year now new Samsung phones are being shipped with V9.

Thanks again

ronand
14-11-20, 13:14
What do mean by Google support? Access to the play store?? My mrs still uses an old phone with 4.2.2 on it and has full access to everything. Yes there may be a few apps that wont work but thats nothing to do with google. Samsung will ship their high end phones with the latest version to try to flog them as there is usually very little difference in features otherwise.

DigitalAardvark
14-11-20, 13:31
Thanks ronand, just using Google as a yardstick. Because of the phrase ' not supporting anymore' which I read online, this meaning to me the beginning of the end of this version. I feel that I have been bitten many times by the likes of the big boys (microsoft, google spring to mind and laptop builders) announce that they are stopping supporting operating systems and software and I'm a chunk of my Media system not working properly anymore.

Thanks again.
This box is in the lead at the moment for me.

DigitalAardvark
14-11-20, 13:44