PDA

View Full Version : Path to internal HDD lost! HELP please.

xarqi
05-02-11, 11:19
(openPLI)
Help!
I'm trying out some network devices and had created several mount points for them.

I set up a new one and did a clean up and deleted the mount points for the devices I would not be using any more.

I swear I only deleted the mount points for the devices not in use.

Now, hdd/movie points to a network share, and I can't figure out how to get it pointing back to the internal disc!

A recording that started automatically is now going to a network share, since the default recording path is hdd/movie, and that now points somewhere I don't want it to.

What did I do and how do I fix it, please?

I do still have the internal disc mounted across my LAN as a SMB share. I'm reluctant to dismount it in case I can't get it back!

xarqi
05-02-11, 11:57
Update:
Exploring with telnet (and keep in mind I'm a Linux novice).
Using df, I can't see anything that looks like the internal disc, so I think that means it was dismounted somehow.
I think what I need to do is remount it using something like:
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/hdd

Mind you, there is already an entry for mnt/hdd@ - the one that leads to the network device now being used for recording. I'm guessing that the @ denotes a network share.
I've got some recordings scheduled for the next several hours, so I won't mess with it just yet.

Somebody please let me know if I'm on the right track or if I'm about to make things a whole lot worse.

xarqi
05-02-11, 12:22
Update 2:
As a test, after a bit of a false start, I did:
mkdir mnt/samsung
mount /dev/sda1 mnt/samsung

... and that mounted the internal disc for me under a different name - samsung. I didn't want to try 'hdd' yet.

I can now navigate to mnt/samsung using the Vu+ remote, so that's promising.
It doesn't appear in the known 'locations' though.

xarqi
06-02-11, 02:20
Well, to continue the monologue: