PDA

View Full Version : [Mut@nt] HD51 Recording HD Channels (OpenVix Image)?

DarkDeveloper
08-08-18, 10:20
Hi,

I’m a newbie posting first time, and was wondering if some kind soul would be able to answer a question about recording HD channels?

I should point out that I am asking about LEGAL recording here, and NOT PIRACY(as per the forum rules)

I have just acquired a Mutant HD51 receiver (from the site sponsor) with OpenVix image (unfortunately, I have not had a chance to play around with it yet!).

I believe, that with a LEGAL hardware Viacess CAM and LEGAL/VALID SUBSCRIPTION Pay-TV card, I can record SD channels (decrypted) onto storage (be it an internal hard drive or external memory). But, I believe that this is not the case with HD channels (the recordings remaining encrypted, and are only viewable on the receiver with the CAM/Pay-TV card still inserted).

The grey area, and I should stress that *I am NOT asking for any illegal/forum rule breaking advice here*, is I believe decrypted HD recording (with legit CAM/Card) is possible through the installation of a "Softcam"?.

I am not interested in anything illegal, and note that even the OpenVix website documents installation of Softcams (even providing some Softcams in their downloads section).

So my question is, if I download/install a softcam (from Openvix.co.uk), is it just the case of inserting the Pay TV card into the Smartcard reader, and then any subsequent HD recordings being viewable offline i.e. on my PC or any other MP4 supporting device?

Or is it more complicated than that :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance for any help!

DarkDeveloper

cactikid
08-08-18, 15:48
Regarding cam i believe these 4k boxes need oscam.
If box is connected to sat 28.2 many hd channels are non encrypted and are easily viewed.

DarkDeveloper
08-08-18, 19:51
Hi, Thanks for the reply.

The pay tv card would be for a subscription package on Hotbird, so both SD & HD are broadcast encrypted.