PDA

View Full Version : [VU+ Solo2] Exception No such file or directory: '/tmp/was_rectimer_wakeup'

asktrevis
06-08-17, 07:34
Hello, today a popup with an exception appeared:

Text No such file or directory: '/tmp/was_rectimer_wakeup'

Log attached.

Regards
asktrevis

bbbuk
06-08-17, 22:23
Looks like an unhandled error:

Fehler: [Failure instance: Traceback: <type 'exceptions.OSError'>: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/tmp/was_rectimer_wakeup'
I'm no expert but RecordTimer.py uses:

if os.path.exists("/tmp/was_rectimer_wakeup") but that command only returns true if path exists - ie "/tmp/" rather than actual file as it then proceeds to try to open it but "/tmp" will always return true as path will always be there (I believe). Wouldn't it be better to see if file itself exists before trying to open it?

Similar thing in mytest.py as well. Not checked in anything else.

birdman
07-08-17, 01:34
I'm no expert but RecordTimer.py uses:

if os.path.exists("/tmp/was_rectimer_wakeup") but that command only returns true if path exists - ie "/tmp/" rather than actual file....What makes you believe that?
A path in Linux (and Unix) terms is a path to a file-system object - any object. So:

[parent]: ls /var/log/boot.log*
/var/log/boot.log
[parent]: python
Python 2.7.12 (default, Nov 19 2016, 06:48:10)
[GCC 5.4.0 20160609] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import os
>>> print os.path.exists("/var/log/boot.log")
True
>>> print os.path.exists("/var/log/boot.logx")
False
>>>
[parent]:
i.e. it's a perfectly valid test for "is there such a file". (Well, almost - it would also return True if there were a directory of that name, but that's not the issue here).

birdman
07-08-17, 02:19
Well, the code in question is:
if os.path.exists("/tmp/was_rectimer_wakeup") and not wasRecTimerWakeup:
wasRecTimerWakeup = int(open("/tmp/was_rectimer_wakeup", "r").read()) and True or False