PDA

View Full Version : USB Flashing!

malcom123
19-01-11, 21:45
Reading through some of the posts I read about USB device flashing the Vu+duo It was part of some setup instructions on a sticky thread. As a complete novice, What is flashing and why!!!!!

Larry-G
19-01-11, 21:52
flashing is the process of you loading a new ( image ) to your box. there are many reasons why would want to do this such as added features over the original image for example.

malcom123
19-01-11, 22:05
Sorry not sure what is meant by "image". Is that the same as talking about a new "Skin" . New appearance for screen dispalys or something more!!!!!!!

I need to learn because I think most of the best spec recievers seem to be linux based......I have downloaded the manual for the Vu+duo well laid out.

When it comes to setting up an external or internal HD I am a bit concerned I will meet with failure to understand how to get it working....

Larry-G
19-01-11, 22:07
the image is the equivalent of a operating system. these boxes use a E2 = Enigma 2 linux os, and teams like VIX use this basic original image to make their own.

malcom123
19-01-11, 22:18
Many Thank's.....So its something I don't have to get involved with as a beginner but can if want when my know how grows.....

Larry-G
19-01-11, 22:19
the original image while very suitable only provides basic functions. to unlock the full potential of the box you will eventually want to flash the box with a new image.

malcom123
20-01-11, 00:00
When flashing a new "image". If a mistake is made is it possible the the original image that came with the machine will be lost.........Or does retuning it to factory settings ensure mistakes are corrected......regards...

silverfox0786
20-01-11, 00:05
if you cock up as we all do then the recovery is just a case of reflashing repaeat process 1 in a sence and all will be ok again