PDA

View Full Version : First Challenges

JimEvo2
16-05-10, 21:15
I am totally new to all this satellite stuff, so thanks to all for the information I have gleaned from this site up to now. I have built a few pc's and changed operating systems so I thought it was about time I had a play with one of these boxes next. I was going to buy a dreambox until I heard that the dreambox 800 is being updated and there is a new 7025 HD box coming out too. This only left the DM 8000 which costs too much for me to justify buying it as a first receiver.

The vu+ duo seems to do everything I want with plenty of extras as I learn the ropes with this box.

I had no problems setting up the box with the initial installed image and just robbed one of the sky+ feeds so I could try out the freesat channels.

The board is rev 2.3 with a white remote just in case anyones interested.

Anyhow after trying the original image pre-installed on the box I had to try out another image and went with the openpli image for newbies (Thanks Sicilian :cool:). It has to be one of the easiest things to do, far easier than resetting a frozen sky box :mad:.

Why do sky boxes take so long to reboot compared to this box anyway ?

After success with this box I had to try the dream elite image and this is where the fun started. The downloaded file (DreamEliteBH_VUDUO_132_USB) when opened up didn't have the correct extension, however I downloaded it from the dream elite site and this had the 3 files in it.
I have since found the problem in that the zip file is inside another zip file but the file needs renaming with a .zip extension :confused:

Anyhow the dream elite image is now on the box and it has some great features but I do prefer some features of the openpli image. The best feature about the openpli was I could find channel numbers easily, but not with the dream elite one. I'll have to play around with this and give it a more sky feel.