PDA

View Full Version : Solo2 Recording Sizes Query!

Bazzy
04-03-17, 17:46
Hi All,

I have read quite a few times that many experienced folks have stated that the way these machines record programmes is very efficient (say when compared to Sky) & so many feel that a 500GB/1TB is plenty of storage & I keep in mind that unlike me, these folks are most likely pretty heavy duty users!

On my Solo 2, the recording sizes are huge tbh & has me wondering if anything might be amiss? For example:

1) An hour long SD programme: anything between 800MB - 1.3GB
2) An hour long HD programme: anything between 1.8GB - 2.5GB
3) A HD 90min movie: 3.5GB - 5GB
4) Longer events like sports etc: SD - around 1.3GB/1.5GB per hour & HD around 2GB/2.5GB per hour.

It is hard to give an exact figure of MB or GB per hour as it seems to vary so very widely, even if many programmes might be the same time length!

Does that sound right may I ask? As a novice I do not know but it seems kind of high does it not?

Many Thanks!

ccs
04-03-17, 17:49
Sizes sound about right to me.

Ashley69
04-03-17, 17:57
Yes I agree with css. These sizes are about right.

Valiant
04-03-17, 18:42
I did have one recording recently that was 12GB in size - can't remember what it was, I deleted it after viewing. Typically the Lord of the Rings films on HD would be about this size, they are about three hours long plus adverts if on a commercial channel. I don't know if there is a skin that displays the recording size, it might be useful to some. I only find the size of a recording once it is deleted as the displayed Trashcan size increments.

Bazzy
06-03-17, 19:26
Hi All,

Many thanks for the replies - much appreciated & good to know that recording sizes seem normal on my box then!!

May I also ask about a couple of other issues regarding the recording section: