PDA

View Full Version : Samsung UE43KU6500 TV HDCP message using sky

spartans
24-10-16, 07:39
Hello everyone I have upgraded my TV to a Samsung UE43KU6500 and as it has no scart connection I have changed my sky box to a Amstrad HD all has been fine for 6 weeks but on Sunday the TV displayed a banner HDCP not supported on this screen contact sky for help and disconnect HDMI cable. Contacted sky they are sending someone out in two weeks but ive changed HDMI cable no joy, updated TV software and powered down skybox several times then at last for 6 hours it was fine but message is back ? I'm am using analogue at the minute to view sky has anyone a solution to this problem . Other sources such as dvd etc work fine on the same HDMI input

tiggerbiker
24-10-16, 08:29
im far from an expert on the subject but HDCP is a fairly new form of copy protection, if you plug something that outputs an HDCP signal into something that doesnt support it then you will get the message you are seeing. quite why you can get it to work for a few hours then see the warning im not sure!
does it come on with specific channels? premium channels perhaps? does it come on at all when viewing FTA channels?

spartans
24-10-16, 10:08
im far from an expert on the subject but HDCP is a fairly new form of copy protection, if you plug something that outputs an HDCP signal into something that doesnt support it then you will get the message you are seeing. quite why you can get it to work for a few hours then see the warning im not sure!
does it come on with specific channels? premium channels perhaps? does it come on at all when viewing FTA channels?

The banner comes on as soon as the sky box initialises even with FTA channels

Ashley69
24-10-16, 11:17
Is this anything to do with Spec of HDMI Cable? Doesn't 4K need a 2.0 or higher cable?

TK4|2|1
24-10-16, 15:33