PDA

View Full Version : Mount set ups ?? (Help)

Dab100
23-10-16, 09:06
Hi guys, I'm still a newbie to all this so I'm apologising in advance for any stupid questions to follow.
Quick explanation as to what I'm trying to achieve as follows.....

I have 2 Xtrend 8000 box's all set up and working with latest vix image loaded etc and both connected via Ethernet to router...
What I am trying to do, is get access from one box to the other to be able to watch recorded programmes on the HDD..
I have created the mounts using the network mount manger on both box's and set up NFS driver, but not sure if this is the correct procedure at all..:confused:

Any help on this would be much appreciated...thanks :)

tappari
23-10-16, 09:18
Hi guys, I'm still a newbie to all this so I'm apologising in advance for any stupid questions to follow.

I have 2 Xtrend 8000 box's all set up and working with latest vix image loaded etc and both connected via Ethernet to router...
What I am trying to do, is get access from one box to the other to be able to watch recorded programmes on the HDD..
I have created the mounts using the network mount manger on both box's and set up NFS driver, but not sure if this is the correct procedure at all..:confused:

That is right procedure, but what you share from the box with nfs depends of what you have in /etc/exports file.

Dab100
23-10-16, 09:25
Hi, thanks for reply,
Do you mean that I have to save recordings to a different file on the box??
ie not save them to the media/hdd but create a new folder for export files...sorry I'm a bit lost on this...

tappari
23-10-16, 10:17
Hi, thanks for reply,
ie not save them to the media/hdd but create a new folder for export files...sorry I'm a bit lost on this...
I only like to share /hdd/movie directory, and that`s why I have this line in /etc/exports file: /media/hdd/movie/ 192.168.0.0/255.255.0.0(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,no_root_squas h)

john doe
23-10-16, 10:48
Hi, thanks for reply,