PDA

View Full Version : Benefits of Xtrend ET7500 combo over Edison OS Mini combo?

blackvenom
06-09-16, 19:46
So I am a beginner and this will be my first box.

I already have hardware to run KODI so that's not an issue.

I currently have two Sky sat feeds into the house and one VM cable feed (with a subscription). To start off I didn't want to spend too much and shortlisted the Xtrend ET7500 and Edison OS Mini combo boxes. These also seem to be recommended together in various threads on WoS. Apart from the added benefit of being able to have an internal drive in the Xtrend I don't really see what the Xtrend has to offer that the Edison doesn't do.

If you guys can enlighten me I would appreciate it. Thanks

Sicilian
06-09-16, 19:52
Xtrend ET7500 has internal SATA HDD faclity, swappable 2nd tuner, Nice front display, rear eSATAp port. ET7500 does not have wifi that the Edision has but you could use a USB wifi adapter if needed.

blackvenom
06-09-16, 20:11
Xtrend ET7500 has internal SATA HDD faclity, swappable 2nd tuner, Nice front display, rear eSATAp port. ET7500 does not have wifi that the Edision has but you could use a USB wifi adapter if needed.

It does look like a nicer box from the pictures. The WiFi portion isn't a deal breaker as it'll be hard wired to the router. What about performance wise?

Sicilian
06-09-16, 20:14
Performance is comparable. Main point for me on the Xtrend ET7500 is nice front display and internal SATA HDD facility. If you're not bothered by those features save some money and go for the Edision OS Mini Combo.

blackvenom
07-09-16, 05:24
Performance is comparable. Main point for me on the Xtrend ET7500 is nice front display and internal SATA HDD facility.

Support also seems to be well given for both products too. My sticking point is also the HDD capability of the Xtrend ET7500.

twol
07-09-16, 07:19