PDA

View Full Version : Ready to buy ET8500

tiger
03-08-16, 00:24
Hi All,

I'm new to this. Was looking to purchase a receiver (box, as i call it), thinking of the vu solo 2.
I've been put onto this receiver as it is a better spec and cheaper.
The hdd caddy will be good for me as i have loads of hdd's lying around.
I also have 2 apple time capsules so will try to record on those via usb.

Ready to buy from world of sat's with openvix.
There are not as many threads on this make of receiver, will people here
be able to guide me through setting it up?

I have 2 X sky hd boxes and a freeview hd box in 3 rooms.
I will buy this for my living room and needs to record, the others don't really need to record.
so i will buy the 'best' one now which could be this Xtrend ET8500.
I have a fixed sky dish and no subscription to sky for years!

Also i am limited to how much i can download, i have a spare 10 - 20gb per month
available to use but that's about it, so streaming or internet TV will eat this, i dont mind too much
and as the months pass my limit increases.
I no longer use broadband with a telephone line, i use a mobile broadband router, it's perfect for me, very fast
(50mb download / 18mb upload) and i can take it anywhere i go as i also have a mobile router.
However i am limited to 50Gb on one sim and 20gb on another, the 20gb sim soon to be closed.
so at the moment i have a good amount spare but 20gb less in a couple of months.
I think this will be a bit of a problem but should be fine for me, i dont watch too much TV in any case.

I'll have to see if i can work out how much internet it will use per hour of tv say, very roughly of course!
if not in HD, it shouldn't be too much but i guess would add up if watching a lot of TV. I'm more interested in
certain programs such as motorsport, other sports and films which interest me, i dont need to watch every
crap film made when it comes out.

any advice on this receiver would be helpful, it is easy to set-up / use?