PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed

Robinsonrobbo
22-07-16, 18:59
Hi all I'm a complete newbie to this ,my pal gave me a zgemma box and it does a job but I was wanting to up grade ,I have a Uhd Sony TV and was looking at some of the Uhd receivers.

I was looking at the Vu solo plus 4k but was after some advice on install and backup etc,

All advice appreciated.

Thanks Chris

obo110x
22-07-16, 19:07
Firstly unplug the zgemma and throw it in the bin. Secondly if you scroll down the forum there is a whole section devoted to Vu+ receivers and sub section for Solo 4K.
Also there are some new 4K boxes due on the market, if memory serves from xtrend and Gigablue. These are expected to be cheaper than the Solo 4K. Can't say for sure but they may be easier for a complete newbie to set up!

john doe
22-07-16, 19:11
theres no UHD channels at moment so a bit pointless buying, with that said you will be getting a box that is faster and ready for any UHD that may come out, although I would not hiold your breath. you can get other channels from foreign receivers and are broadcasted at 4K

Robinsonrobbo
22-07-16, 19:59
Thanks for the replies. I currently run 2 cables from my sky dish? I'll have a look at the other receivers as well. Also is it worth getting a motorised dish? Watch a lot of tv and 3 kids so always on! .

DaMacFunkin
22-07-16, 20:07
theres no UHD channels at moment so a bit pointless buying, with that said you will be getting a box that is faster and ready for any UHD that may come out, although I would not hiold your breath. you can get other channels from foreign receivers and are broadcasted at 4K

So which is it? There are no UHD channels or you can get foreign UHD channels?
I watched quite a lot of euro 2016 in 4k, as well as the champions league final and someone i know watched Roland Garos in 4k.

Andy_Hazza
22-07-16, 20:07