PDA

View Full Version : two Combi tuners

beaudaniels
17-07-16, 11:10
Had Virgin Broadband installed yesterday and all is well.
Sky is working as usual and now all I need to do is setup both Digital receivers - living room is Xtrend ET8500 and bedroom is Edision OS mini - both with openvix :)
I think the only thing I'm missing is a VM cable running into bedroom......
Before I start on the main box; could I set up the Edision box for bedroom to run my current sky package?
I have sky multiroom cable, just not VM and this moment in time. And can I go back to the Edision to set it up for VM once I've sorted a new cable?
Sorry, I'm a complete newbie and trying hard to figure out all these abbreviations for various things.... :/

Thanks in advance
Beau

beaudaniels
17-07-16, 17:03
Anyone?
Sky cables pulled through. Will I also need the phoneline with these new boxes? :/

abu baniaz
17-07-16, 17:15
If you are redoing your house, best to run network cables to each location.

Satellite wires must be direct from LNB/Distribution system (unless unicable).

DVB-C (avoiding the word "cable") can be split. So best to have a wire to each device. You can split/share.

DVB-T can be split. So best to have a wire to each device. You can split/share.

beaudaniels
17-07-16, 17:44
It's an old house...
Had the DVB-C fitted yesterday. It's literally just connected to broadband at present...... Satellite cables are white so I'm guessing it's from the existing box :/
Darn it, back to the drawing board.......

Ford1
17-07-16, 18:06
Are both boxes fitted with dvb-s2 AND dvc-c tuners? and at what stage of the install are you at?

beaudaniels
18-07-16, 10:55
Are both boxes fitted with dvb-s2 AND dvc-c tuners? and at what stage of the install are you at?

Hi ford1 - I believe they are, yes. I have the new Edision OS mini and a new Xtrend 8500.
I'm at the VERY early stage i.e: Just had VM broadband installed......

Ford1
18-07-16, 18:44