PDA

View Full Version : Canon CR2 files

tin.top
04-01-11, 15:40
Hi, I am new to the Duo scene, but haave some questions that I can not see any reference to. It may be too niche.
I take camer pics in a format called raw (In canon speak it is called cr2). it is similiar to jpeg, but not lossy
Do you know if there is anyway I can get the unit to recognise such files?
If someone can point me in the right direction I am will to start coding it myself!
Regards
TT

tin.top
04-01-11, 22:54
wow, I didn't realise how niche it is!
Anyway I have now found that v1.3 crashes with large jpgs.. Is there a setting somewhere that I have missed?

Regards

pooface
04-01-11, 23:12
Personally, I don't use images on my duo... So, I haven't noticed any problems...

But, why don't you get your camera to shoot in raw and jpeg?! That way, you can keep the jpg images for your duo, and the raw images for your photo processing... That's what I do. Have the jpegs for posting out for family, and the cr2's for myself...

tin.top
04-01-11, 23:48
Hi there,
What I actually do is convert them via photoshop afterwards...in the vain attempt to save disk space!
You said you don't use images.. if not what do you use?
SOrry but as I mentioned I am new to the scene...
Regards
TT

pooface
04-01-11, 23:50
Hi there,
What I actually do is convert them via photoshop afterwards...in the vain attempt to save disk space!
You said you don't use images.. if not what do you use?
SOrry but as I mentioned I am new to the scene...
Regards
TT

I meant I don't bother to put my pictures on to the vu duo... I just use them on my laptop, email them out to people, and put them on the digital photoframe. Not display them on the tv ;)

If trying to save diskspace, use a program called fsresizer to compress the pictures in a bulk ;)

tin.top
04-01-11, 23:55
Ahh ok , sorry for the confusion..
I was hoping to allow the family to view pics via the box (one of the reasons for getting the duo box)