PDA

View Full Version : Bigginers help

Domg82
11-05-16, 12:31
Afternoon all

first of all hi and what a brilliant site wish I had found this years ago

I have been searching this forum for a while and I have found it really useful.

I am new to all this I am not a total novice and have a little IT background, what I am looking to do is sort out my box its a VU duo 2, I got it from the internet so quite possibly a fake (not that it matters I don't think for my question).

recently it has been freezing and crashing not loads but enough to be a little annoying. what I would like to do is upload the latest version of the VIX software. I have had a look through the download section, I can find the images my questions I recon are very basic and sorry please don't flame me but:

1) are there any special settings I should note down prior to starting a fresh to put back in
2) I would like to also use the sky skin how do I get that to upload.

if there are any novice step by step gides please let me know also what special software will I need

regards

and thanks in advance

Bazzer
11-05-16, 13:08
What image are you using now and it doe's matter if it is a clone it will not load the vix image.

Domg82
11-05-16, 13:54
hi

thanks for the reply

it must be a real box then as I have VIX on it at the moment

Sicilian
11-05-16, 14:14
Moved to correct section.

Domg82
11-05-16, 14:43
thank you and sorry it was in the wrong section

wallnut
11-05-16, 15:16
Ftp into your box and save the .config file(s) for which ever softcam you are using.

Then flash the box with the latest image here: http://www.openvix.co.uk/openvix-builds/Vu+Duo2/openvix-4.1.008.release-vuduo2_usb.zip

To help you get the box set up follow this guide here: http://www.world-of-satellite.com/showthread.php?39144-VIX-Manual.

Make sure to install the same softcam that was previously on the box, then ftp the .config file(s) back to the box and away you go.