PDA

View Full Version : LNB Setup issue

disneysw
01-04-16, 09:48
Warning Newbie alert!

I have a new Edison OS Mini but can only manage to receive around 130 channels (not sure why).

First, the dish I am connecting to relatively old but works fine with Sky (UK) and Oenbox receivers. The dish is fitted with a quad LNB and the OS mini is a dual DVB-S2 tuner.

If I configure the tuners for a universal LNB I receive no signals whatsoever. The only way to I can receive any channels is by manually configuring the LNB to permanently enable the signal tone that is normally used for hi/low band selection.

Once enabled a scan finds around 130 channels and the system seems to work fine other than the limited channel list.

I read somewhere about a possible incompatibility with some older quad LNB's where only ~20% of the channels are received but this seems an unlikely scenario though I am no expert.

But before replacing the LNB I wanted to check I am not doing something stupid. Any suggestions?

TK4|2|1
01-04-16, 17:09
Post your tuner configs please

disneysw
02-04-16, 01:07
Post your tuner configs please

Ok discovered I can receive ~900 channels using a Blind Scan with the tuners set to:

Config mode: Simple
Mode: Single
Satellite: 28.2E Astra 2E/2F/2G
DiSEqC: no

However any attempts to use the automatic satellite scan or the AutoBouquetsMaker fail. I also tried using Dreamset to upload a config but the channels still cannot be tunned.

I tried both ATV and Openvix (both release versions of OpenVix) and always encounter the same issue. Obviously I am being very stupid and missing something very fundemental in the setup!

Tuners fitted to the receiver are a Broadcom BCM73XX and a FTS-260 (Montage RS6000).

judge
02-04-16, 01:14
Sounds like your dish might need a slight nudge. Anything blocking line of sight?

DaMacFunkin
02-04-16, 06:59