PDA

View Full Version : VU+ Duo Media Playback (DIVX, XVID, ISO,etc)

dna1409
01-01-11, 13:01
Hello,

I'm new to the satelite system scene and have recently purchased a VU+ Duo. I have tried numerous images (PLI, Dream Elite, VIX) and no matter which image i choose my media player just doesnt seem to play any avi i throw at it smoothly enough to watch a film without irritation. I have read that the media player side of the VU+ is still in early development, is this true, will it improve?

In the mean time does anyone know what codecs/settings to use for conversion of video files so that they will play without problems?

I have also been looking into VLC player on the VU+, using my PC as the VLC sever. Has anyone tried this, does this work well as a media player?

Happy new year all, and thanks for any replies :)

DnA1409.

stanley1
01-01-11, 13:05
still a bit to go on media player but having said that it can play mkv files seamlessly, look here for VLC player and VU+.

http://www.vuplus-support.co.uk/showthread.php?3653-Vlc-player-on-vu-solved!!

dna1409
01-01-11, 13:17
What resolution do the .mkv files play? Could you recommend any programs for converting to .mkv?

Also, is it possible to convert DIVX to .mkv, i know that the image would not be HD but maybe they would run smoothly on VU+ if they were presented as .mkv?

Have you tried the VLC player Stanley?

stanley1
01-01-11, 13:27
I think resolution is 1280x720, Im sorry I don't know any program for converting to mkv as I usually download only mkv files, VLC works fine as a server, I use version 1.0.5, VLC is on vix server you just need to input ip address.

Maxwell
01-01-11, 13:40
HandBrake will convert to MKV no problem

http://handbrake.fr/

Larry-G
01-01-11, 14:05
HandBrake will convert to MKV no problem

http://handbrake.fr/

indeed it will. i use it my self regularly and it works like a charm.

MalteseMick
01-01-11, 14:20