PDA

View Full Version : Moving away from SKY to what?

GrJaLeCo
08-03-16, 12:04
Hi all,

I'm a noob at all this SKY alternative STB magic, so please be gentle with me :)

Currently I have 2 SKY boxes (lounge and loft which is multiroom) both have their own 2 satellite cables attached (4 cables from my LNB) and both boxes wired into network.

The lounge box is just for the lounge TV. The loft box has a terrestrial cable attached and then RF2 connected to a booster which then has the other coaxial cables attached to the booster and they serve SKY to each bedroom and kitchen. Pretty normal set-up really.

The main bedroom TV is connected via HDMI and SKY eye (kids currently to small to have their own bedroom TV!) and the kitchen uses the coaxial TV cable to get analogue SKY and has a SKY eye attached.

How can I replicate this set-up using VU+ boxes and get the same SKY User Interface?

I hear that OpenVix is very good and has a SKY Blue HD plugin to give the same look and feel as SKY. Correct? Does it have all the SKY functionality like full EPG, series reminder and record?

I know that the SKY channels will be encrypted without a SKY subscription, but I have that covered ;)

Until today I thought I'd need 2 x VU+Duo2 boxes to replicate my current set-up, but today I hear about "Remote Stream Convert". Does this give me the ability to have a Duo2 or Solo 4K in the lounge as a server box (however that is set-up) and then have any number of other cheaper VU+ boxes set-up as clients (however that is set-up) in any other room which are connected to the same network and talk to the server box and access it's channels and saved content?

I assume with the same image and plugins it'll too look like SKY and have the ability to tell the server box to record a channel (if a tuner is free)?

Any help would be greatly appreciated on what I'd need/could buy to replicate my current SKY set-up :)

twol
08-03-16, 12:40