PDA

View Full Version : Commercials skip

mik9
30-12-10, 00:11
Although I am new to Vu+ Duo, I got almost everything sorted out and tweaked so that box+remote does things the way I need and my family can use it as user friendly. Anyway, I am surprised there is no SKIP plugin that would simplify skip of commercials as everyone must cope with them. I am not talking about automatic skip as the technology is still not up to this but about manual quick skipping. I have DVB-T Topfield 5100 and there are several plugins (so called TAPs) for this. Most of them work as binary skip (i.e halving interval when you skip too far and want to skip reverse direction) that is very convenient. They work both in playback and timeshift mode.

I was thinking about workarounds. This is what I found so far:

1. I can use numeric keys, e.g. 6 for skipping (1 minute) forward and 1 for skipping (15 seconds) back when I get too far with key 6. Sadly, this is not convenient in Timeshift mode as you have to first get to "seeking" mode otherwise you will zap channels with numeric keys and lose your all your timeshift recording. This mistake can happen very easily so it is of no use.

2. I know that for Dreamboxes it works similar as described above as there is plugin assigning skipping to keys < and >. I would like to do this too but even Multiquickbutton plugin does not allow assigning skipping to any key.

My question is: Is there any skip plugin I am not aware of or is there any possibility of assigning skipping to non-numeric keys?

Stanman
30-12-10, 20:11
You can set the skip times in menu>settings>customise.
240 will jump over all adverts on terrestrial channels

mik9
30-12-10, 22:54
You can set the skip times in menu>settings>customise.
240 will jump over all adverts on terrestrial channels