PDA

View Full Version : Cable Tuners

giub1981
22-12-15, 12:25
Hi

I currently have a VU+ Duo box but am thinking of upgrading to a duo2 (or even solo 4k) and have DVB-C tuner installed. I currently use sat for viewing but an thinking of changing to cable as I have a feed with VM so I can access HD channels which I cant with sat.

I currently only have 1 feed coming into the house for my VM Tivo box and from this feed, I am able to watch one channel and record another (record 2 and watch a 3rd). If I do change to a DUO2, would I need to have 2 cable feeds to watch 1 channel and record another (just as you do with sat) or does cable work differently and 1 feed with be able to do this all?

If it does work off one feed, do you have to change any settings for it to watch 1 channel and record another? I read somewhere that a "loop through" is needed. (sorry of the terminology is wrong, I am still learning).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Peterj
22-12-15, 13:54
You can have 1 feed and use the loop through.
You can also have 2 twin dvb-c tuners in a duo2. This way you have 4 tuners. 3 for record, one to watch.

giub1981
22-12-15, 15:00
Thanks for your reply

Just to clarify this (sorry for being thick), with 1 feed and one twin dvb-c tuner, I can watch one channel and record another?

If I get 2 twin dvb-c tuners (and still one feed) I can watch one channel and record 3 anothers? I just need to use a loop through?

If my understanding is correct, that is fantastic :thumbsup:

How does a loop through work and how is it set up?

Thanks

abu baniaz
22-12-15, 15:28
Unlike satellite, all the signal comes down one cable. You can therefore "split/share" the cable. You can do this by splitters or by loop through cables. The Vu + twin DVB-C tuners only have one external connection, the loopthrough between the two tuners (within the module) is done internally.

http://www.world-of-satellite.com/showthread.php?44799-Loop-RF-out-for-Cable-Terrestrial

giub1981