PDA

View Full Version : [ET9x00] Changing port from default 8001 to a preferred one

sunky
16-12-15, 00:37
I believe an outsider has access to my box and would therefore require port change.

I am new to these system but do understand port change can be done using putty or similar software. Would be really appreciated if anyone can share the knowledge of commands required in putty to effect this change.

thanks

judge
16-12-15, 01:05
Changing the port wont stop anyone accessing your box.
Disabling the port will.

sunky
16-12-15, 01:15
Thanks, I am still interested in changing port on my unit regardless, I mioght need to leave it opened occassionally.

Also, what is your suggestion for ensuring a secured box please?

judge
16-12-15, 01:19
Thanks, I am still interested in changing port on my unit regardless, I mioght need to leave it opened occassionally.

Also, what is your suggestion for ensuring a secured box please?
In less than 10 seconds, someone could add your changed port to an IP server.
VPN probably best solution.

Ashley69
16-12-15, 10:11
A few quick question on this subject if I may please.

1. How can you tell if someone is connecting to your box.
2. What causes the box to be open to the outside.
3. How do you fix it.

I have password protected the root for my box.

From my router perspective I have only a couple of ports open for my CCTV and they have a strong username and password.

Thanks
Ash

judge
16-12-15, 10:45
Opening any ports on your router invites anyone in.
Your CCTV might have some security enabled, your E2 box doesn't.

outrage_uk
16-12-15, 13:29
This is a big problem with Vix in my opinion, yet on my own I seem to be getting ignored... Obviously people are scanning for streams on 8001 and automatically connecting. Vix comes with an unchangeable port and non working security which in my opinion needs sorting urgently.