PDA

View Full Version : Impressions of a 4 week old Enigma2 newbie.

George Kildare
19-09-15, 10:26
I am a newbie to Enigma 2 receivers have my Xtrend 10000 for about 4 weeks. I thought it useful to give some of my impressions. Note that the box was delivered with 2 satellite tuners and 2 cable tuners. OpenPLI was installed by the dealer, but after a week I changed to OpenVix Hades, because of the superior epg, autotimer and the Vix website.

In general I am extremely happy with the box. It took me about 2 weeks to get the settings to my liking, but now everything is generally working OK. I am also extremely grateful to the large number of enthusiasts who promptly react to my often stupid questions on the forum and for the excellent VIx manual.

However, I have some comments and suggestions.

1. Very occasionally the software hangs and I need to reboot the box manually. This may be due to some of the plug-in extensions, but it is not too bad and I haven’t had time to sort it out.
2. There is very little information about the plug-ins. Several years ago I had a Topfield 5000. I remember that there was a website with a list of the plug-ins with their category, a one line description about what they did and a rating + comments. It would be very useful if a similar website was available for the E2 plugins, including the image that they are known to work with a summary of stability etc.
3. There are so many possibilities with the various settings, that it might be an idea to have a few standard variations saved that (like skins) could be applied easily.