PDA

View Full Version : Hey, what box?

Jonny101
11-09-15, 23:35
Hi,

I'm a complete noob to all this stuff. My friend got a Zgemma Star h1 box and says its good and works through satellite or cable..

I want to get on the bangwagon and get a box but don't know what is available. Are Zgemma boxes good? What is available to me as I do not have a satellite, only cable?

Any advise would be appreciated!

Cheers

Stanman
12-09-15, 00:26
Zgemma are crap.

What's your budget and requirements?

Jonny101
12-09-15, 00:50
£100-150?

Whats crap about the zgemma? Sorry I'm just not familiar with any box.. Just want one that works with cable, a decent one.

Roderik
12-09-15, 01:16
Xtrend 9500 much better working good more memory and the quality is far more better than Zgemma:)

judge
12-09-15, 01:18
Are Zgemma boxes good?
Cheap & nasty clone box with no safety checks done.
Also, no ViX support.
Avoid it at all costs.

Roderik
12-09-15, 01:20
Xtrend 9500 much better working good more memory and the quality is far more better than Zgemma and indeed a cheap clone box

DaMacFunkin
12-09-15, 07:13
No official support for zgemma, imagine you have your box and there is a vix update, you install it and your box is bricked? Do you or your mate know what to do with it?

Jonny101
12-09-15, 08:43
As I said I'm a complete noob so don't know what all this vix stuff is about. Is that the best skin/firmware or whatever?

Also just done a quick google on that xtrend box and its saying satellite receiver? I only have cable.

casuk
12-09-15, 09:19
They also take cable tuners, zgemma is OK for a chepo box but it will get on your nerves and you will want to replace it, as a noob you should get something openvix supports as that would be the best image for your needs, xtrend and vu are solid, at £150 you only option really is a xtrend 9500 or gigablue

Jonny101
12-09-15, 09:30