PDA

View Full Version : Vu+Duo - What satellite am I pointing at??

mcquaim
10-12-10, 22:34
Hi there,

Firstly sorry for a stupid question but I'm a newbie and kind of lost at the minute.

I recently bought a Vu+Duo and a 60cm dish. I installed both today and pointed my dish at what I thought was Astra 28.2 with guidance from www.dishpointer.com.

Initially when I powered on my box and went through the initial setup the screen just sat at "Loading Enigma 2...". No power was getting to my LNB as my sat finder would not power up.

I then updated the image to the latest VTI image and thankfully I was not getting power to my LNB. I aligned my dish and I was happy that I was on Astra 28.2. I then ran a scan on the receiver with Astra selected. This returned 191 channels but they all seem to be Spanish or something like that. I am also not getting any picture when I attempt to watch a channel.

Am I doing something really stupid? How do I know what satellite the receiver is currently picking up? I can't make out what it means from the information screen.

Thanks,
mcquaim

silverfox0786
10-12-10, 22:38
go to menu, setup, system, Language ... set to uk

also put a bouquet into your box

SGTFlipFlop or Silverfox0786 will give you 28.2e fixed

mcquaim
10-12-10, 22:45
Thanks for the quick response silverfox!!

I wasn't very clear, the system language is in English but the channels that have been returned and the programme info is in a foreign language.

I tried downloading a bouquet there now and it lists loads and loads of channels but still no picture! And error pops up for some of the channels SID or something.

I reckon I must have the wrong satellite or something.. Anyway to see what I'm currently pointing at??

basilyoung
10-12-10, 22:52
it sounds to me, that you are on 19 east, and if you want 28 east, the dis will need moving 8 deggrees to the left of its current position

baz

Larry-G
10-12-10, 22:53