PDA

View Full Version : advice on reciver

Sparky01
25-04-15, 19:30
i am after a bit of advice because I am new to all this and looking to start slowly, I have 2 sly hd 2tb boxes currently and this is what I a am looking to replace I am looking for a receiver with twin input so I can record one channel and watch a 2 nd one, I was thinking of the Technomate TM-Twin-OE Enigma , question is will this box do this and also there is the option of 4 different firmware option.

What's the difference between it all.

Any advise would be most welcome and sooty if you have been asked this before.

Andy_Hazza
25-04-15, 19:49
The TM-Twin-OE is an ageing receiver now n would personally advise against going for that one. Do you have a particular budget in mind?

Sparky01
25-04-15, 21:05
The TM-Twin-OE is an ageing receiver now n would personally advise against going for that one. Do you have a particular budget in mind?

Not at this point, but don't want to spread 300 on a box when a 200 box would have done the same job.
As I said I am new to this and to start with I am looking at replacing the sly box but getting the same functions I have at the moment.

mann
25-04-15, 22:01
I would go for the VU+solo2 its a great box with great specs will do all you want it to plus well supported here.

Andy_Hazza
25-04-15, 22:25
Not at this point, but don't want to spread 300 on a box when a 200 box would have done the same job.
As I said I am new to this and to start with I am looking at replacing the sly box but getting the same functions I have at the moment.

Also to bear in mind, Technomate has a serious driver issue and you cannot enable "Timeshift" which is basically the pause live tv equivalent to sky's.
I would personally go for a Vu+ Solo2 >> http://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk/Digital-Satellite-Receivers/Vu/VU-Solo-2-Solo2-Twin-Tuner-DVB-S2-HD-Enigma2-Linux-Satellite-Receiver